Chicken Scampi I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2001
I decided to make this at the last minute. So I decided to make the marinade as a sauce. I doubled the sauce ingredients; cut the chicken breasts into little pieces and cooked the chicken in the marinade in a saucepan; covered; for 30 min. which was too long; 15 min. would've been better. The flavor was really good. Next time I'll cut down by 1 T the lemon juice and the worcestershire. I'll definitely make this again, my way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I sort of combined the 3 chicken scampi recipes that are presently on this website trying to find the closest representation to what is on that "well-known Italian restaurant chain" menu. (Chicken scampi is the only item on their menu that I like.) So even though there is a lot of butter (and that is why it is good!), I used the sauce on Jill's, decreasing the Worcestershire sauce to more of a hint than 3 T; I added the veggies (peppers, sauteed onion, mushrooms) and WAY more parmesan; and served it over angelhair pasta like the restaurant does. It turned out really good. My husband loved it and so did I. I'll make it again. Thank you to all 3 contributers! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
My husband and I both loved this dish. We decided it was great but not amazing. I doubled the marinade and let the chicken sit overnight. I left out the lemon juice till a few hours before I cooked it. I didn't want the acid to cook the chicken. After boiling the sauce for a few minutes it got kind of thick so i added a few teaspoons of olive oil to thin it up a little. I served over pasta and with a side of asparagus. Delicious! ***EDIT*** I tried with shrimp and it was also delicious. I only marinaded for a few hours and it was plenty. Next time I will try with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mybabiesmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mapleton, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Delicious....I didn't measure anything, just eyed it. I only marinated for 2 hours, but what i did was take a fork and just poke the chicken and couple of times and took the air out of the container i put it in. It's delicous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I tried this and we did not like, so the second time around we sauted chicken on stovetop using 1/2 cup of chicken broth, seasoned with a little salt, pepper, and garlic powder till nearly cooked and juices run clear. In a sauce pan melt 1 cup of butter, 2 tablespoons of dijon mustard, 1 tablespoon of fresh garlic or jarred, 1 tablespoon of fresh parsley or you can use dried. Over medium heat, combine butter mustard, lemon juice, garlic and parsley. When butter melts remove from heat. Arrange chicken in a shallow pan and pour butter mixture over. Cook for 35 to 40 minutes till chicken is done. Yummy Yummy Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is a terrific base recipe. I did change a few things though. I added a lot more garlic, mainly because my household is full of garlic fanatics, I also added the juice from a whole lemon adding a nice citrus hint to the background. Also, a pat of butter thickens the sauce nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Great pasta dish. I served it with angel hair. I took the left over marinade, boiled it for several minutes and tossed it with the angel hair. They only think I would do different is to toss pasta with a little butter before the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was so yummy! I followed some of the tips from other reviewers, and cut the Worstershire by 1 Tbsp. I also added mushrooms to the marinade, in the saucepan. I didn't marinate for very long, but it was still very good. I put the chicken in the broiler for just over 15 minutes, and it was absolutely perfect. I served over Pasta Roni's Angel Hair Pasta with Parmesan. It was a huge hit with the family. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
We liked it but it was not "the best." Served over brown rice, we are avoiding pasta right now because we are dieting (again). Would like to try it again over pasta. The marinade did boil down to like nothing so it wasn't much of a sauce, may double next time. Had good flavor though and was something different. Would probably be good served on a salad! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I made this recipe the other night & it was really good. I made a few adjustments as suggested by some others, as follows: I double the sauce to serve over angel hair pasta (did not marinade chicken); added green pepper, onion and mushrooms – all sliced; For the Worcestershire sauce I used 2 T of soy sauce (didn’t have W sauce); For white wine I used 1/3 C chicken broth & 1/4 C cooking sherry; I cut the chicken into bite sized pieces and sautéed on stove-until almost cooked thru, then added onion, green pepper & mushroom. Cooked a few minutes then added the ingredients for the sauce and covered on med low for about 15 min. Made pasta and tossed with about 3 T butter. Served scampi w/ sauce over noodles. Chicken was really tender, and my girls (ages 7 & 11) liked it too! Will definitely make again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States