Chicken Scallopini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Awesome recipe! Thank you Strangecacti!! Only deviation on my part...used Kerry Gold Garlic & Herb butter vs. pressed garlic and butter. And used Better than Bouillon since I didn't have demi-glace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I make this fairly often and usually edit the steps to speed things up. I melt the shortening (butter really does taste best...) then sautee about a tsp. of minced garlic (in the jar). I don't slice open the chicken breasts: I use a rolling pin to pound the breasts between saran wrap until flattened uniformly. Dredge them in flour seasonsed w/s&p, sauteed them until golden brown, and keep warm in the oven while I sautee (canned or fresh) mushrooms, a bit of lemon juice, white wine if I have it (stock or water w/chicken bullion granuales also works), and usually a bit of flour mixed into the liquid before adding to the pan. Add capers last, then return meat to pan to meld flavors. I usually make double the sauce and serve w/either some kind of rice or some kind of pasta. Love the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Knock your socks off good! Excellent as is. No changes. SCORE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Made without capers & used a chicken "base" (couldn't find demi-glace). So, so good, easy yet elegant! I'll keep looking for a demi-glace & maybe sub greek olives for capers (hubs won't eat capers but loves greek olives). Any other suggestions for a good substitute for capers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
EXCELLENT! I had to make a big quanity for my large family. We all LOVED it! The only thing different that I did was added onion with the garlic, cream & basil with the final sauce. I topped it all off with fresh grated parm. cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This dish is not new to me at all, and I have always loved it. But I've always used chicken broth wih the wine and lemon juice, never demi-glace. The demi-glace made it even better - richer, with a more full-bodied flavor. An excellent, solid 5-star recipe. I would just caution against cooking the chicken for 6-8 minutes on each side. A few minutes on each side, just until the chicken turns opaque, is all this needs. Even a minute or two of overcooking can easily take this from moist and tender to tough and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
About ten years ago I had a friend fresh out of culinary school who made this same dish and I never forgot it. I cut thin tenders instead of butterflying the breast and added shallots in with the mushrooms. Served with buttered bowties and my own lemon-pepper zucchini. To those who thought the caper oil tainted the flavor of the sauce, rinse the capers before adding them to mellow things out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
had to substitute alot of things. turned out pretty good still though. I'm gonna chalk this up to user error and try again,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Excellent, excellent, excellent! This is by far better than Chicken Marsala! Thanks for the recipe, it is definitely on my list of favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Very tasty, however I will use less capers next time. Capers gave it a very strong taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States