Chicken Scallopini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This was incredible. Changed a few things: added onion, used mostly olive oil with just a little butter (the butter really adds to the flavor though), used homemade chicken broth with a bouillon cube in place of the demi glace because we didn't have any. Served with a mashed cauliflower recipe that I found on another site, which was an excellent accompaniment to soak up the delicious sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Outstandingly good. Didn't have any chicken glace, and didn't notice the absence. Instead, I used a little over 1/3 C white cooking wine; omitted salt in the recipe, and it all turned out great! Oh, and used 8 oz of mushrooms, not 4 oz. We ate every single one, too! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Fantastic and so much easier than I thought it would be! I didn't have time to reduce broth for demi glace, so I used veggie Better Than Bouillion, a round teaspoon worked well. I sliced the breasts into bite sized pieces, the way they serve it at Macaroni Grill, so that I didn't have to pound it. Next time I will add artichoke hearts and use less flour, as I threw out half of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Really yummy! I didn't have demi-glace so I deglazed it with chicken broth. This is def. going into our dinner recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
WONDERFUL! I added a bit of garlic in step 2 and then added artichokes and baby spinach leaves into the sauce and skipped the demi-glace. I used a sauvignon blanc which worked beautifully with the flavor. Amazingly good! And my wife loved it for her birthday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Meh, not much to write home about on this one. The sauce was just okay and there wasn't much of it. If I ever made it again I would add some chicken broth to it, but I'll probably just look for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This was delicious. I was stumped how to make the demi-glace from chicken broth, but gave it a try based on the recipe description. Here is what I did: I simmered one can of chicken broth until it reduced by at least half. I used the remaining flour after dredging the chicken and added water to make a batter-like consistency. I probably only used about 1-2 Tbsp added to the reduced broth, heating over low to combine it until smooth & no lumps. It was really wonderful, I will make this again for the in-laws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I followed the directions with the exception of using chicken-flavored Better Than Bouillon instead of the demi-glace, as mentioned in some of the other reviews. It was fantastic! A huge hit with the kids, too. We'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Awesome recipe! Thank you Strangecacti!! Only deviation on my part...used Kerry Gold Garlic & Herb butter vs. pressed garlic and butter. And used Better than Bouillon since I didn't have demi-glace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I make this fairly often and usually edit the steps to speed things up. I melt the shortening (butter really does taste best...) then sautee about a tsp. of minced garlic (in the jar). I don't slice open the chicken breasts: I use a rolling pin to pound the breasts between saran wrap until flattened uniformly. Dredge them in flour seasonsed w/s&p, sauteed them until golden brown, and keep warm in the oven while I sautee (canned or fresh) mushrooms, a bit of lemon juice, white wine if I have it (stock or water w/chicken bullion granuales also works), and usually a bit of flour mixed into the liquid before adding to the pan. Add capers last, then return meat to pan to meld flavors. I usually make double the sauce and serve w/either some kind of rice or some kind of pasta. Love the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States