Chicken, Sausage and Zucchini Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Chicken, Sausage & Zucchini Pasta Haiku: "Halved the recipe, quite a bit of work to prep, doesn't need chicken!" Much easier to brown the Italian sausage first before slicing; also felt like the chicken was totally lost in this recipe, as the sausage provides enough protein flavor. I actually wasn't expecting to like this all that much, thinking that many ingredients, 2 proteins, and several veggies, would all compete with one another to be my tastebuds' victor, but golly, we all ended up really liking this! Halved the recipe for 2 adults, 1 child, used the full 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes (Italian-seasoned ones), and an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce instead of opening up a jar of spaghetti sauce for the amount called for. My only complaint was that it felt like alot of prep work, but I suppose if I made it again and dropped the chicken, that would save some time, and certainly using the canned mushrooms and tomatoes reduced that chopping time, so OK, I take my complaint back, this WAS good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This was SO GOOD. One of my favorite pasta dishes I've had in a long time. I used Johsonville ground Italian sausage (since that's what I had) and otherwise followed the recipe pretty much as written and LOVED it! Leftovers reheat great too. I did omit zucchini since my boys don't eat it - but I would have liked it in this a lot. I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned to use up what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe. I used tomato sauce and chopped tomato because I had them on hand. Johnsonville Italian sausage Mild.I put a few squirts of hot sauce in after tasting it. This is a lot of food and it is really healthy and full of flavor. This one goes in the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Grilled the chicken til barely pink yesterday, then cut it up last night so it was ready to add today. Will precook the sausage next time as well, so it is easier to cut and will speed up the time needed to complete this dish. We loved the finished product, and it will be one of our go-to recipes in the summer when our garden is overflowing with zucchini, peppers, and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
YUM! This was really good!!! While I prefer Michelle's Italian sausage & zucchini a *tad* better (literally, just by a slim margin), this was super yummy too! I LOVE sausage and pasta, so this was right up my alley! :) I do think you could get by using only one meat tho.... The chicken was a nice addition, but totally not necessary IMHO (if you don't have it, don't sweat it). TIP: As DMM104 mentioned in her review, slicing uncooked sausage can be difficult. The sausage oozes out of the casing, making quite a mess. As she did, I also cut my sausage PRIOR to cooking it. I browned all four links in a little EVOO to start. Once nice and brown on all sides, I removed my sausage links, allowed them to cool a bit and then sliced. I added my sliced sausage BACK to my skillet and finished cooking it along with my chicken - perfect! Other than adjusting how I cooked my sausage, my only other change was to use an entire package (3 breasts) of chicken instead of just two breasts. I'm not sure I'd have noticed there was chicken in this had I not increased it. A warm loaf of Italian bread was all I needed to complete my homey meal. All in all, this was SUPER tasty and 100% hubs approved (hooray!)! Thanks for sharing your recipe with the AR community, Mary! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This was great! All five in the house loved it and it's hard to please my 7 and 9 year olds with anything other than mac and cheese or chicken nuggets. Instead of the spaghetti sauce I used oil butter and garlic as my sauce. I also used breakfast sausage which gave it even more flavor! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa Landry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Used penne pasta, 2 more cloves of garlic, and spicy Italian sausage. Turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Although this was a relatively easy recipes, I did not like it. I did use homegrown tomatoes, and a jar of my favorite sauce but this was not a very well received dinner. I also substituted cremini mushrooms [my favorite kind] but I am very unlikely to be bothered to make again. Just not what I expected at all. I love pasta but will pass on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Beatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Excellent meal! Used hot sausage for some kick, but otherwise prepared as listed. We had unexpected dinner guests and there was plenty for 2 more people, and everyone raved over it. "It's a keeper" was heard more than once. Thanks for a new twist for a quick, delicious dinner option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States