Chicken Sauerkraut Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I love chicken and sauerkraut. The acid from the kraut marinates the chicken as it bakes making it moist and delicious. I am of German heritage so the smell of kraut doesn't bother me a bit. It reminds me of my grandmother's house. I changed the recipe a bit. I added a can of drained diced tomatoes, 3 Tbsp of brown sugar, celery seeds and a grated granny smith apple or two to the sauerkraut. Cover the chicken with the kraut and bake. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I read reviews and thought this recipe has good potential - I made is with a little modifications, and it was YUMMY! I got kudos from my family, everybody went for seconds. I followed the original recipe and added 1. more spices - half teaspoon celery salt, a few whole peppercorns, a few bay leaves and a few coriander seeds; 2. two sliced apples to add flavor (I think tart apples like Granny Smith work best here). As far as potatoes, I boiled white baby potatoes first, then halved them and added under the chicken pieces so that they would absorb juices. The dish was wonderful - very warming and satisfying. Thank you so much for that recipe, Geroniho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Om gosh! Very good. We make our own kraut so it is even better! I added carrots for the heck of it. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya Kankles
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I made this last night substituted with chicken tenders, baby red potatoes, and Bavarian style sauerkraut... it was amazing! I also used grape seed oil instead of butter, for a lower calorie count. My husband, who is a huge fan of sauerkraut, cleaned his plate, and asked if there was more. Oh, I also added crushed red pepper flakes, for a bit of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neveamion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Quick to put together. Tastes ok, something is missing though. May have to play with this one. I used sliced potato's and fresh chicken breasts. They worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmay6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I altered this a bit by using chicken thighs, which I browned before adding to the casserole, and adding chopped fresh cabbage along with a thinly sliced raw potato and the sauerkraut. I also added a little chicken broth and some water before baking since I didn't have any tin foil to cover it. It baked in about 70 minutes and tasted wonderful! It's definitely comfort food but also pretty healthy, especially with the extra cabbage. The only thing I'd do differently when I make it again is double the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was terrible. I chose one star because I had to to be able to submit my review. I would not suggest this to anyone. It tasted awful and will stink your entire house up while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This tasted great. It took way longer for mine to get done. Probably because my free range chicken weighed almost 6 pounds and I used fresh potatoes. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I dont know what I did wrong but my husband took one bite and ordered pizza,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This is the best, moistest chicken you can imagine. I have been making this for years & now my children & Grand children are making it too. The only difference in the way I make it is... I use a whole chicken, stuff the sauerkraut inside & around the chicken. Roast it until the chicken is done ( the juice runs clear when poked by the thigh) I serve it with mashed potatoes & mix the sauerkraut in( on my plate) You can;t get any better than this. ALL the flavors blend together to make a wonderful tasting meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States