Chicken Salad with Toasted Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
I've used this recipe for years, and it is always a favorite at any pot-luck I attend. This is my most requested recipe, you'll enjoy it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
I loved it, and so did everyone I work with about 50 people. I added apples to this recipe and took out the salt and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIEMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
I found this recipe for a friend to take to a pot luck supper. She has just called to tell me that the chicken salad was a winner, rated the tastiest dish there! Now to dazzle my friends as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Zavadil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Wonderful! I cut down on the fat by reducing the mayonnaise and almonds to 1/2 cup (1/2 cup of almonds was plenty!!). I also reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp. I didn't chill the chicken with lemon juice for 2 hours, and it was just fine. I think using red grapes next time would add a bit more color. I served the chicken salad on whole wheat pita bread. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
This salad is easy to make. My guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Delicious!!! My late stepmother used to make this and it was a family favorite. I never got the recipe from her and was excited to find that this is it! I used more grapes, doubled the water chestnuts, subbed fresh spinach for lettuce, and the next time I make it, I'll cut the amount of almonds in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This chicken salad is terrific! I made it with pre-cooked Honey Roasted chicken tenders (too hot to cook, even grill), skipped the lemon juice and used red grapes because that was what I had on hand, but those were the only changes I made. My husband, who is not a huge fan of anything chicken, cleaned the bowl. HIGHLY recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mittens

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Excellent chicken salad. I made a couple of changes/additions. I didn't use lettuce, water chestnuts or lemon juice on the chicken. I did add green onions, swiss cheese & red grapes. Salad is best when it sits overnight. Don't add the almonds until you are ready to serve, it keeps them crunchy. Served on croissants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Love this salad... a great thing to make with leftover cooked chicken... will make again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
We really liked this, using red grapes & apples instead of water chestnuts. I also kicked up the flavor/seasoning value by using home-made ranch dressing instead of the mayo/miracle whip, but decreased the amount by 1/2. I served this with lettuce leaves on top, not in the mix. Used french rolls that I lightly toasted with butter & garlic. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States