Chicken Salad with Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Cherry Rae
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I made this recipe when I received it in my inbox in the "daily recipe" newsletter. It sounded exactly like what I wanted for dinner and I wasn't disappointed. I used Bulgar Wheat instead of cous cous as the local store was out. I made the recipe for 2 and actually doubled the cumin and wine because I was added a lot more vegetables. I used tender stem broccoli and baby corn as extra veg. I also used mild white onion which I sauted with the chicken as I was out of green onions. I omitted the olives as I don't like them. All in all even with all my changes this was an incredible dish. It was a favourite with my other half too. I will definitely be making this for lunches as well as light dinners in the future. It was perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Excellent! My husband was skeptical of the couscous but when he tried it he thought it was great. One thing he thought the dish needed more was spice and added some Jamaica Me Crazy pepper from Costco the salad was still excellent. Will definitely make it again. GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This is a great change from the usual chicken salad, or the usual pasta salad. I made it once following the recipe, then made it again using more olives, chopped blanched asparagus and added feta cheese; very yummy. This will be my new "potluck" salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
A favorite in my house for lunch. I usually don't use wine in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Very good quick recipe!It ended up being even quicker,since I used 4 leftover grilled chicken breasts.I also added a couple heads of lightly steamed broccoli and made a dressing of 1 1/2 Tbs lime juice,about 6 Tbs orange juice,2 cloves garlic,salt and pepper and tossed it in.I also cooked the couscous in 1 1/2 c. broth instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
I served this cold. It was excellent. Would go well as a side dish or a meal with bread. My son hates cooked peppers and enjoyed the raw peppers. Very colorful!!Suggest you take liquids you will cook the chicken in and mariante chicken in it for at least 30-60 minutes before cooking/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
A delicious alternative to pasta salad! I made it with precooked couscous and it was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
WOW! GREAT lunch salad! I make a batch of this, and it drives my co-workers crazy wondering where I got it! I was also amazed how quickly it can be thrown together. All in all, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States