Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Delicious! I love chicken salads and anything with bacon is bound to be good so I had to give this a try. I used leftover rotisserie chicken and 1/2 cup of Hellman's light mayo with 1/4 cup of light sour cream for the dressing. I de-seeded my tomato so nothing would get "watery". I loved the crunch from the celery and instead of just placing this on a plate as a "salad", I decided to roll this up inside large tortillas with the romaine lettuce and avocado slices because afterall, some chicken salads deserve to be eaten with your hands rather than just a fork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
This was a decent chicken salad...very simple to make and you probably have everything you need. I only used half a cup of mayo and added a good deal of Lemon Pepper seasoning and garlic salt...it needs some spicing up. I've made it twice now and it's much better with diced chicken breast than with canned chicken...it's a better texture. I also added the avocado to the mixture rather than as a garnish. You really can add anything to this and it will turn out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
My family LOVED this salad. The mix of flavors was terrific. I served it over a bed of shredded lettuce and it made a beautiful and very simple dinner for a hot summer day. There was enough leftover for one lunch the next day and we fought over who would get it. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Awesome chicken salad! I have made it twice this week already!! Even my 3 year old loves it. I added some chopped apple in there to give it a little sweetness and it was fantastic! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMS13408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Great light but satisfying main dish salad. I didn't really play around with the ingredients other than adding some sour cream to the dressing. This is a beautiful, healthy and tasty salad, with all its confetti colors and fresh ingredients. Most notable was the avocado and bacon, which lent not only great flavor but creaminess and crunch. It's kind of a sedate salad, not boldly flavored, but I actually found that appealing after heavier meals. I'm not generally a "salad for supper" kind of person, but served with "Peppery Cheddar Muffins," this was quite nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
WOW!!!!! The dressing makes this sooooo good. Eventhough the most of the dressing being mayo, I thought "Eww, I don't know about this" but this was a very excellent choice and refreshing. The ingredients calls for celery but when following the directions it doesn't mention celery so I forgot to add it. I don't think I will either when making this again because it was good just like it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
This is great! I added some shredded cheddar cheese and served it in wrap sandwiches. My family loved it! My family loves chicken salad and liked the addition of the bacon. I'll be making this version quite often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
this was so so good. I made tortillas and assembled everything as a wrap.....a great summer dinner item. Husband loves it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
This was really good on toasted bread with some lettuce. Yum Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
This a great receipe! I served this for lunch to a few friends, and they wanted the receipe. Wonderful taste, instead of pork bacon, I used turkey, and it turned out great. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berlin, Maryland, USA
Living In: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States