Chicken Salad with Apples, Grapes, and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My go to chicken salad recipe now. Made over the holidays at parties and doing for football. LOVE it. Always a BIG hit. I make it as is, and I ONLY use green granny smith apples as the grapes and yogurt are sweet enough. After I prepare the salad, I split it in half and put walnuts in one half and no walnuts in the other half for non-nutters. I fill finger rolls, wraps and also fill lettuce leaves to appeal to different appetites. So delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Made this today! It was awesome! Best chicken salad I've had in a long time! Made home-made cream puffs and served them with this chicken salad! Yummy, yummy good & I followed this recipe to a T (terrific)! margie e
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Just made this cuz I had a whole rotisserie chicken I needed to use up. I didnt have enough lemon juice, nor the yogurt. However, I did substitute yogurt ranch dressing and cut back on the onion as others suggested. I also added a bag of cranberries & honey glazed walnut mixture. Came out very good. Will definitely make this again, but will be sure to have all the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Delicious!! This tastes VERY similar to the chicken salad they make at Arby's, which is exactly what I was looking to duplicate - thanks! As other reviewers mentioned, I left out the Miracle Whip and I just doubled the mayo instead. Such a versatile recipe - leave out what you don't like or substitute with ingredients you do like. You can't go wrong with this one, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
love this--either on toast or just on a plate; also have made it with just plain/nonfat greek yogurt for my daughter and she likes it that way. Easy to make with what is on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trabella

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Thought it tasted very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I've been making chicken salad for quite a while for my mom, who doesn't enjoy eating many things anymore. This is hands down the best- she loves it. I think it's the extra sweetness of the yogurt and the balance of simple flavors that really sets this recipe apart from the dozens i have tried. I make the recipe as written and agree with other reviewers that you wouldn't need the Miracle Whip if you didn't have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Excellent! I didn't have all the ingredients but it was awesome. I had regular yogurt, so used more lemon juice, used sweet onions, red apples and no celery. OK I had to change it but the original recipe is a perfect standard to work from. The yogurt was a healthy, delicious option. Will make it again and with all the recipe ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Just made this for my husbands lunch. Took the advice of another reviewer and used gala apples and added cranberries. replaced walnuts with pistacios. Put in 1/2 of small red onion and it's not overwhelming. This was delicious. I also used 10 Tbsp of olive oil mayo instead of using 5 miracle whip and 5 mayo. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Oustanding!!! Best chicken salad I ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States