Chicken Salad in the Tropics Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2001
Beautiful summertime salad. The most difficult part is timing it so that the mango and the avocado are sufficiently ripe at the same time, since grocery stores usually sell them in a pre-ripened state. Attractive presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
Great and exotic chicken salad. Worth the assembly of all these delicious fruits, little more time consuming, but wonderful to the taste buds. Cool, tasty summer salad for company on a hot day, or just your family on a hot day. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
This is excellent for those who enjoy eating healthy meals. The flavors work wonderfully together and there is such a nice variety of fresh ingredients most children can find something they enjoy. I will make this again exactly as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
This was pretty good. I ended up adding more OJ to the dressing because the sesame oil was overpowering - I would cut the sesame oil in half next time. This probably won't become a dinner staple for us but it's good when you're looking for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Very tasty! My husband who does not like salad dressing even enjoyed it. I spiced up the dressing a bit by adding a teaspoon of Sambol Olek and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2000
This salad takes some time to prepare but it worths it. My friends love it a lot. It is perfect for Spring and Summer meal. Try it if you haven't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This is a visually attractive salad, perfect for ladies' luncheon. While we all liked the taste of the dressing, we thought it was too thin. Didn't coat the salad, which made it kind "drippy." Couldn't think of a way to thicken the dressing at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This salad is delicious! All of my guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Delish! This was a nice 'don't have to measure anything' recipe! All the flavors combined well. Left out the cheese, and used 'Light and Fresh Dressing' (from this website), since this one got mixed reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by Christy
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I thought the dressing for this salad was really gross, the sesame oil was WAY to overpowering, so i through out the dressing and completely started over, omiting the sesame oil, cutting the soy sauce in half, and also, leaving out the pepper, and even with that i still wasn't happy with the dressing. The salad was overall, just ok, nothing special, i would prefer a salad with ranch dressing and just some plain old grilled chicken over the top before i ate this one. BUT, my hubby loved it and scarfed it down, and finished mine, so i am giving it 3 stars, because i hated it and he loved it, so i found a happy medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States