Chicken Salad Al La Barbara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Good summer salad, refeshing with all the fruit! It was missing a little something for me....so I added a handful of raisins and a few pinches of curry powder (to taste) and that made quite a difference! I also made twice the amount of dressing and used most of it to coat the pasta a bit more. Not my hubby's type of salad, but a really nice salad for a get together with the girls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
What a great chicken salad. I made a few changes due to my own preferences. I skipped the oranges, and the pasta, instead of adding the Tbls of sugar I added 2 Tbls of the pineapple juice. I used 1/2 cup of mayo and 1/2 cup of miracle whip added a few green onions, cut down the celery to 2 stalks, and grilled four chicken breasts. I served the chicken salad in warm soft pitas. I know I changed mine alot but this recipe gave me the foundation for what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Excellent way to give chicken salad a face lift!! The combination of flavors and textures was very tasty. I used half poppy seed dressing and half mayonnaise, no milk. I also added an asian pear in place ao one of the apples. Turned out delicious. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
Served this at an early evening wedding shower and there was absolutely NONE left! This is a simple salad to make and is absolutly divine to eat. CB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
I am a big chicken salad fan, I absolutely love this! I have made it several times, but I leave out the mandarin oranges and the milk - they seem to make it too soupy. I do not add nutmeg either. I have made this a dozen times, I have gotten many requests for the recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
This salad was excellent. I used a poppy seed dressing instead of the mayonnaise mixture and it couldn't have tasted better. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
Good, good, good! I didn't have as much fruit as the recipe called for. I can imagine that it would be REALLY good with all the fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
Mmmm... even better than I was expecting. This really is a great dish to have on a hot day! Don't skimp out on any of the fruit, because they work well together and nothing tastes out of place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
It was almost 100F today and I was in need of a light and cool dinner. That's when I came across this recipe! I fixed the chicken salad and my whole family liked it!! (and with 6 of us, that's saying something,lol) I did not have any celery or grapes, and I added some chopped green onions. Overall: a wonderfull combination of flavors and a great taste! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Very tasty; however, a lot of work involved with all the different fruits. My mother liked the taste, and would like for me to make this salad one day for one of her church teas. I WILL!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States