Chicken Salad Al La Barbara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
This was an amazing salad. I've been scrambling to find the perfect main course for a bridal shower and I have to search no more. The perfect blend of pasta, chicken, and fruit makes it a well rounded dish for a luncheon. I just finished eating my second helping of the test batch and I know it will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
What a great chicken salad. I made a few changes due to my own preferences. I skipped the oranges, and the pasta, instead of adding the Tbls of sugar I added 2 Tbls of the pineapple juice. I used 1/2 cup of mayo and 1/2 cup of miracle whip added a few green onions, cut down the celery to 2 stalks, and grilled four chicken breasts. I served the chicken salad in warm soft pitas. I know I changed mine alot but this recipe gave me the foundation for what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
This is delicious! I love the hint of nutmeg. I used fresh broccoli instead of the celery and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2001
I boiled a whole chicken and left out the oranges. I used twice the amount of purple grapes instead. I added a little Miracle Whip to make it creamier and my husband and I loved it. No doubt this is one of our favorite summer salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
I am a big chicken salad fan, I absolutely love this! I have made it several times, but I leave out the mandarin oranges and the milk - they seem to make it too soupy. I do not add nutmeg either. I have made this a dozen times, I have gotten many requests for the recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Very very good, but any salad like this that I make must have NUTS...nuts nuts nuts. I love nuts. Especially almonds...sliced ones work well with this recipe. This is a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2000
This is a great twist on chicken salad; very refreshing. I made it without the pasta and it was delicious. Good dish for the summertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
This is an excellent main corse salad on a hot summer day. I wanted to make sure my husband would like it so I left out the pineapple and only a small pinch of nutmeg. It was the right consistency without the milk. Easy to make but lots of chopping. My Pampered Chef chopper made it much quicker. This is a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
I loved it -- others in the family did not. I agree with the lady that mentioned making it for a ladies luncheon. My hubby and kids didn't like the mix of fruit and chicken in a salad. Personally, I thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Very tasty; however, a lot of work involved with all the different fruits. My mother liked the taste, and would like for me to make this salad one day for one of her church teas. I WILL!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States