Chicken Saagwala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BlueB
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is great, and it goes together quickly. I added additional garam masala, and until I added the yogurt and milk, I used medium high heat, therefore eliminating the need to cook as long as directed. My family suggests tying a string to the bay leaf for easy recovery and making more sauce. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Even my young children devoured this meal. Huge Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer.Harrison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marinwood, California, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I've also found that most Indian recipes don't have a strong flavor. So, I took the suggestion to double the dry masala, this was great! I finely chopped two onions, also, I blanched, peeled and pureed three small tomatoes. Rather than adding the ginger root and garlic clove, I added two tsp of ginger-garlic paste and one tsp of garlic paste. I also added one red chili for kick. I added the yogurt, but I left out the milk. I liked the taste and I didn't want to change it. Maybe next time I'll try adding the milk. I love saagwala chicken and I'll definitely come back to this recipe. This recipe has good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Easy and tasty dish. Like other reviews I used coconut milk in place of regular. Will definitely continue to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I have made this recipe a number of times and my husband and I both love it. I follow the recipe exactly, except I add 1 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of ground pepper, in with the other spices, and I double the spinach. I've also made this vegetarian before with mushrooms and paneer (the paneer was made with a recipe from this site). When modifying the recipe just make sure to add liquid to replace the liquid you would get from the chicken. I browned sliced mushrooms with the onions, then continued following the recipe and added the spices, garlic, ginger, and tomato paste. At this point I began adding vegetable broth and continued to do so as needed until the mixture had simmered for 10 minutes (this is important, just add enough so your mixture can simmer and bubble softly, not too much that it's really soupy, but enough that it doesn't burn and stick to the pan), then I added the spinach, let it wilt a minute, then added the yogurt, milk, and paneer. Brought the mixture back up to a simmer and let it simmer for another 10 minutes. I also should note that this dish is quite spicy; halve the pepper if you don't like the heat. To make this taste a little more Thai use coconut milk instead of skim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I liked it but next time I will not try to substitute ground cinnamon for the cinnomon sticks. Take my advice, don't even try it, it makes the dish waaaay too cinnamon-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was good, but it's lacking some depth of flavor. As with most Indian recipes, ended up nearly doubling the dry spices, but it was still a bit bland. Maybe I need to saute the onions longer to develop their flavor more, or use more garlic...I'll have to have a play around with the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This is an excellent recipe and I will definitely be making it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Very flavourful and yummy! I was sad when there wasn't much gravy because it would have been so good - but maybe this is not a gravy heavy dish. The spices are spot on for sure. I omitted the plain yogurt as I didn't have any and used whole milk instead. Also, I just eyeballed the milk amount to my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I liked this very much, but I was confused by the lack of salt. Is this an oversight? Either way, I added salt to taste and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States