Chicken Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
loved it! so deeeelisssh. I didn't have 3 pounds of chicken so I added a can of garbanzo beans from the pantry and it turned out great. I served the chicken saag with naan topped with garlic and olive oil. I didnt have cayenne pepper so I added red pepper flakes. I also didn't have sour cream so I used Chobani plain yogurt instead. I will recommend this recipe its so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is an incredible recipe that takes time and effort. It is worth every minute it takes. The 2nd time I made it, I subbed rinsed canned garbanzos and a cube of bullion instead of chicken. Still great. This will be a recipe I keep always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARMONKEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Wow! Thank you so much for posting this! We are only able to have authentic Indian food when we travel out of a major airport two hours from home. This is a wonderful, scrumptious copy of the chicken saag I had the last time we traveled. I made it exactly as written, and it tastes almost exactly like that which I had in the Indian restaurant, without the high price tag or two hour commute. I served it over brown rice I'd sprinkled with cilantro, and it was soooooo delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Awesome flavors! I modified it a bit in the interest of time by using a store-bought rotisserie chicken and my electric pressure cooker. I only used one bag of pre-washed spinach and used 5 tsp of a garlic ginger paste that I keep in the fridge. I chopped the chicken and ended up with about 2 cups, which I added to the sauce and cooked on low pressure for 5 min. The chicken fell apart and blended well. After adding the spinach, I cooked it on low pressure for 8 min. Lastly, I only used 1/8 tsp of cayenne since I was feeding toddlers. Really, really good over basmati rice. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was decent, I felt like it could use some changes but I am not sure what exactly. I didn't have any rice to put with it, so perhaps that would have made it feel more complete if I had that. My husband liked this a bit more than I did. I will make this again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Stunning!!breakfast lunch and dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is a good "base recipe". Don't be afraid to add a bit more cayenne pepper if you like spicier foods. "I have never met a calorie I didn't like" -Unknown
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This recipe was not to bad. I think next time I will leave out the cloves as I did not like how they over powered the rest of the recipe. It wasn't quite like the Saag I have had at my favorite Indian Restaurant but not the worst I have had either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garden City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States