Chicken Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was great and was even better without chicken. I added some curry to it and used 1/4 tsp ground cloves rather than whole. I served it over basmati rice. Will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ambiga Thiagarajah
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This is definitely a keeper! I have used ground cumin instead of cloves and cardamom. I don't have garam masala and sour cream so I have substitute them with allspice and whipping cream. The result was amazing. I do suggest to minced the garlic, onion ang ginger a day before to reduce the preparation time. This is because it takes a lot of time to cook this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ambiga Thiagarajah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. I cook a lot. The final product had no flavor. Even after tripling the spice ratios of everything, it still just tasted hot spicy without any layers of anything. There was WAY too much spinach, I thought when I was making it that it seemed wrong to possibly use that much spinach, and in the end this was definitely true. If it tasted good I could have gotten over the unappetizing look of it, but it didn't. Absolutely nothing like the dish you actually get at an Indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is one of my favourite Indian dishes and this recipe really makes it less daunting (also it took me about an hour including prep so don't be worried about the estimated time). I changed it quite a bit though. I halved the recipe, but kept the same amount of spices. I also uses two fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Next time the only things I would change is draining the spinach before adding it and adding a little less butter at the end. My SO loved it. We jumped on it so quickly we forgot to take a photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This is amazing, if not exactly what you may get in an Indian restaurant (it is better!). I halved the recipe, using 16 oz. bin of organic spinach from Costco, and chopped finely (versus using the blender after cooking). Used the Garam Masala recipe from this site, and used boneless chicken breasts. Served with basmati rice, I got 5 servings from half the recipe. It took nearly 2 hours, but I'll gladly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe too, however I feel that the ginger and garlic could be blended or pressed instead of minced. We also like our indian food really spicy, so I used at least triple the amount of cayenne pepper to add more heat to the dish. Otherwise, we had plenty of leftovers for a few nights between my husband and I. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Great recipe! I didn't have sour cream, so I subbed in yogurt, and I replaced the turmeric and cardamom I didn't have with curry powder. Tastes just like the chicken saag at my favorite Indian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is a really good recipe -- very authentic tasting. I substituted cubed boneless chicken breasts for the cut up chicken and probably cut the cooking time by at least 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I love Indian food, but so much of the recipes call for ghee or other items that I just don't have on hand. This recipe was easy to follow, and easy to modify if needed. I cut the recipe in half, used diced fire roasted tomatoes, cut up chicken tenderloins,left out the clove because my garam masala has plenty of that flavor already; you do need to adjust spices to taste, I used the full serving amounts, plus adjustments. Ate a serving before realizing I had forgotten the greek yogurt and butter - it was great flavor, but didn't have the restaurant creaminess; with the yogurt it was perfect, the chicken was tender and spinach flavorful. Agree that spinach was not fully wilted with 1/4 cup, but didn't affect recipe outcome. Really recommend this one, plan to do it again with chickpeas.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Chronister

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I really liked it and my picky 3yr (who takes 1 hr to eat) gobbled it up in 5 minutes!! This is definitely a keeper :) but I think I added way too much sour cream lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States