Chicken Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I love Indian food, but so much of the recipes call for ghee or other items that I just don't have on hand. This recipe was easy to follow, and easy to modify if needed. I cut the recipe in half, used diced fire roasted tomatoes, cut up chicken tenderloins,left out the clove because my garam masala has plenty of that flavor already; you do need to adjust spices to taste, I used the full serving amounts, plus adjustments. Ate a serving before realizing I had forgotten the greek yogurt and butter - it was great flavor, but didn't have the restaurant creaminess; with the yogurt it was perfect, the chicken was tender and spinach flavorful. Agree that spinach was not fully wilted with 1/4 cup, but didn't affect recipe outcome. Really recommend this one, plan to do it again with chickpeas.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Chronister

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I really liked it and my picky 3yr (who takes 1 hr to eat) gobbled it up in 5 minutes!! This is definitely a keeper :) but I think I added way too much sour cream lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ecpiersk
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
The saag part turned out perfectly but the chicken was a little dry. I think you should just sear the chicken pieces before adding the tomato/onion spice mixture (which I also pureed, to get a consistency closer to what I've had at restaurants). Also 1/4 cup water for the spinach (I just used a whole bag) wasn't enough to get them properly steamed, more like 1 cup. A package of thawed frozen spinach would also work I think if you're pressed for time. Next time I will also throw in a couple whole dried chiles. Also nonfat plain Greek yogurt works well in place of sour cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I've made this a few times, and it is really delicious. I've played around with the ratios, and I've taken to adding more onion and Cayenne pepper. It adds a really nice back of the tongue heat but doesn't over power the other flavors. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Our family really enjoyed this recipe. Because we're vegetarian and eat very little dairy, I modified it by adding chick peas instead of chicken, using coconut milk in place of cow's milk and omitting the sour cream. I also used a freshly diced chile in place of the cayenne because I learned to make all Indian dishes with fresh, whole spices. While the flavor was great, I wasn't thrilled with the consistency and next time will either grate the onion or will remove the whole spices at the end and give the saag a few pulses with my handheld immersion blender before serving. Also, by adding a handful of freshly chopped cilantro before serving, the flavors seem brighter. Our favorite Indian restaurant uses a similar saag recipe with lots of coriander for flavor and no cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atlanticsong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This is a great recipe but use rounded spoons on ALL of the spices you'll be happy you did, it needs a little more spice. I have made this several times and it is perfection with rounded spoonfuls. I also use use just over 2 lbs of spinach and put it in the food processor. I have got nothing but amazing comments on this. People beg me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Excellent! We enjoyed it as much as eating it at the restaurant. Couldn't find Garam Masala locally, thanks for the recipe on your sight, now I have some for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micheles6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
loved it! so deeeelisssh. I didn't have 3 pounds of chicken so I added a can of garbanzo beans from the pantry and it turned out great. I served the chicken saag with naan topped with garlic and olive oil. I didnt have cayenne pepper so I added red pepper flakes. I also didn't have sour cream so I used Chobani plain yogurt instead. I will recommend this recipe its so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is an incredible recipe that takes time and effort. It is worth every minute it takes. The 2nd time I made it, I subbed rinsed canned garbanzos and a cube of bullion instead of chicken. Still great. This will be a recipe I keep always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARMONKEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Wow! Thank you so much for posting this! We are only able to have authentic Indian food when we travel out of a major airport two hours from home. This is a wonderful, scrumptious copy of the chicken saag I had the last time we traveled. I made it exactly as written, and it tastes almost exactly like that which I had in the Indian restaurant, without the high price tag or two hour commute. I served it over brown rice I'd sprinkled with cilantro, and it was soooooo delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States