Chicken Rotini Stovetop Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
4 pans? Eh. I agree with the comments about the mess, and personally think that each pot being so "sterile" leaves a whole lotta flavor out of this equation. So I did it with two pots -- one for the boiling of pasta, and the second for everything else. Cook the chicken and peppers FIRST, in a large skillet. Drain a little fat, if you want, and then directly add the cream/herb mixture. Cook that down. When the pasta is almost ready (about 1 minute short of finish), drain it and add it to the skillet. Mix all that love up together. Hot and luscious -- you'll be eating all your flavors from one pan, instead of rinsing much of the taste down the drain. Other than the prep style, I thought the ingredients worked really well -- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
WHOOO-HOOOO!!! This one's a winner! I read the reviews before I made mine, and here's what I did: I preheated my large skillet nice n hot (just before the olive oil in it started to smoke). Then, I added the diced chicken. As the chicken started to cook, I added salt & pepper (a fair amount). While the chicken was going, I heated 2 cups of heavy cream and 2 T butter. I didn't have a drop of milk in the house, and I didn't want to use a whole stick of butter, so... there ya go. :) Now, back to the chicken: About halfway through the cooking, I tossed in 3 healthy cloves of minced garlic, 2 diced scallions, 1/2 green pepper, and 1/2 yellow pepper (no red in the store that day). I also used 1 cup of Parm instead of 2/3 (all you cheese lovers out there know what I'm talkin' about, wink, wink). And I doubled the dried spices, while omitting the chives (didn't have any, and I had already used fresh scallions anyway). This dish is absolutely wonderful. For those who noted a bland taste, I would recommend seasoning the chicken with salt and pepper, and also tossing in garlic AND scallions along with the peppers while chicken is still cooking. Doing this allows the flavor of all these wonderful veggies to enhance the chicken and the entire dish. I reheated this one stove top the next day: I poured about 1/5 cup of chicken broth into a sauce pan. Then, I added the Chicken Rotini and stirred occasionally while cooking it over medium low to medium heat. Tastes fresh! Deliciou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Killer. It's like a snooty Chicken Helper. I did add fresh garlic, one sliced onion and half a package of fresh mushrooms because I didn't have enough chicken. I sprinkled just a touch of crushed red pepper flake in the sauce. Very, very good. (My husband thought it was too rich, so next time I might see if I can't slim it down a bit. He also suggested I try this with rock shrimp.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
My daughter called and wanted me to make pasta for dinner. I searched the database and come up this recipe. I added a good "dose" of garlic and I sauted the chicken (I used 3 breasts) with the peppers and added garlic, onion and mushrooms. It was sooooooo good. Even my 5 year old ate it. I only added a 1/2 tsp of cornstarch to get the sauce to thicken. I will be using this recipe again and again. Thanks for sharing Terry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
Pretty tasty stuff...and that's saying something since I have a terrible cold and can hardly taste anything! My boyfriend in particular really liked this dish. The only downfall is the 4 pots/pans you have sitting on your stovetop just to make this! Oh well, the taste was good. If you think you can handle it-try cooking the chicken/peppers at the same time your letting your sauce thicken. That way, your noodles, chicken and sauce are done at almost the same time, resulting in a hot meal! The only change I made was to add a dash of garlic/onion powder to the sauce when whisking in the other spices and while sauting the chicken/bell peppers-added some minced onion/garlic and some fresh sliced mushrooms. Tasty stuff Terry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I'm giving this 4 stars because had I followed the recipe I know this would've tasted great. I made this uusing low fat ingredients and it was very bland. So live a little and use cream and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I added some soy sauce to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
This was very good. I used fat free half and half and added a little cornstarch. My company still had not arrived when it was done so I threw it all in a casserole dish in the oven at 300. This thickened it up more. When I served it we sprinkled freshly grated parmesan cheese on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Awesome basic recipe from which you can make changes based on personal preference. I just made this for dinner, and my husband and I literally could not stop eating it. I added onions, garlic and salt and pepper to the chicken and substituted mushrooms for the peppers. Also used one full cup of the cheese. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This is reminded me of an alfredo sauce with chicken and peppers. Also, you can prepare this in two pans, not four! One for the Rotini, and one for everything else. Gives it more flavor that way. The only thing i changed is i added salt and pepper to the chicken while it cooked and some freah chopped garlic tossed in with the bell peppers. I expected more flavor out of it tho.. and more parm cheese would only make it taste more like alfredo..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Creamy chicken and vegetable filling topped with basil buttermilk biscuits.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States