Chicken Rotini Stovetop Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Pretty good- this is basically like an alfredo sauce with chicken and peppers. I used two whole peppers because I'm always for adding more veggies and used fat free evaporated milk instead of the half and half. Also, this recipe CAN be made in two pans, not four! One for pasta, and one for everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This recipe is easy and very good. I never have heavy cream so I needed to use milk. Due to timing I needed to put it in the oven to keep warm for dinner. The 15 minutes in the oven evaporated enough of the milk to thicken it and crisped up the top which really was a hit with the kids. I did use an oven safe skillet. I also added one chicken bouillion cube to my milk/ butter mixture for some extra flavor. I have made this 3 times in 2 weeks and it is gone by the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This recipe is DELICIOUS! My husband is NOT a fan of casseroles, but this is a little bit more like a pasta dish than a "casserole". (We're from The South where anything called a "Casserole" is mixed with mayo or COMS and covered in a layer of crumbled crackers with tons of cheese and baked for a while.) I made this for him and his bandmates one evening this week and it received stellar reviews!! It's perfect for the spring/summer because it's so light tasting. The flavor of the basil and bell peppers mixed ... that's trick, I think! I changed a couple of things. I followed one reviewer's idea of using only two pans -- one for boiling the pasta and the other for everything else. Excellent idea. Who wants to wash an extra two pots?! And I also added a dose of garlic to the chicken and bell pepper while it cooked. (Maybe ~1/2 tsp.) This will definitely be a repeat at our house! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Easy and good. A real family favorite or a great dish to enjoy with friends. I did as the pervious posters suggusted and did the chicken first, I did set it aside and cook up the sause just beause my pan wouldn't have been big enough to hold it all. I also added about 3/4 teaspoon chopped gaarlic to the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
WHOOO-HOOOO!!! This one's a winner! I read the reviews before I made mine, and here's what I did: I preheated my large skillet nice n hot (just before the olive oil in it started to smoke). Then, I added the diced chicken. As the chicken started to cook, I added salt & pepper (a fair amount). While the chicken was going, I heated 2 cups of heavy cream and 2 T butter. I didn't have a drop of milk in the house, and I didn't want to use a whole stick of butter, so... there ya go. :) Now, back to the chicken: About halfway through the cooking, I tossed in 3 healthy cloves of minced garlic, 2 diced scallions, 1/2 green pepper, and 1/2 yellow pepper (no red in the store that day). I also used 1 cup of Parm instead of 2/3 (all you cheese lovers out there know what I'm talkin' about, wink, wink). And I doubled the dried spices, while omitting the chives (didn't have any, and I had already used fresh scallions anyway). This dish is absolutely wonderful. For those who noted a bland taste, I would recommend seasoning the chicken with salt and pepper, and also tossing in garlic AND scallions along with the peppers while chicken is still cooking. Doing this allows the flavor of all these wonderful veggies to enhance the chicken and the entire dish. I reheated this one stove top the next day: I poured about 1/5 cup of chicken broth into a sauce pan. Then, I added the Chicken Rotini and stirred occasionally while cooking it over medium low to medium heat. Tastes fresh! Deliciou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
It was not a family favorite. My hubby did not like it (a very picky man)however my kids did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
So easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
very easy and quick to make. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I thought this dish was excellent. I cook a lot and it didn't seem to be a ton of work but I did have a stack of dishes at the end...not a huge surprise with a pasta entree. Anyhow, I added quite a little garlic and fresh mushrooms. I wish I would have added cornstarch because it was a little thin. Also, just a word of caution, if you follow the directions exactly, the noodles and chicken will be sitting quite a while and will likely be cool by the time the sauce is done cooking (which takes quite a while). Try to cook as much at once as possible or put the cooked portions someplace to keep them warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This is GOOD!!! I did add mushrooms along with the peppers. I also added minced garlic to the chicken while browning. YUM!!! My side dish was the strawberry and spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States