Chicken Rotini Stovetop Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I really enjoyed making this recipe, as updated by CHEFSINGLEDAD so that it is cooked/combined in one pot. My half and half went bad so I substituted 1/2 whipping cream and one half skim milk to yummy result. The amount of butter freaked me out but I went for it. Was very rich and tasty and not too buttery. My tips: - Salt generously. That was the only thing the recipe needed per our three reviewers. I would taste right before serving and salt at that point. I did salt the chicken when sauteing (and used the salted butter) but it wasn't enough. - Use one extra bell pepper. The peppers cooked PERFECTLY after pre-sauteing, and we wanted more more more! Otherwise, was PERFECTO. My family was impressed, and my eight year old had thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I took the advice of the other reviews and used just two pans. Overall this recipe was very yummy and even my picky youngest ate everything on his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannonB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
My kids loved this and they are picky. My husband said it was restaurant quality. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
The whole family loved this recipe. I did reduce the # of pans by boiling the water in one pan, & cooking the chicken & veggies in another pan. When the pasta was done, I drained it & made the sauce in the pasta pan, then mixed it all together in the pan with the chicken & vegies. I also used a while red pepper instead of 1/2 red & 1/2 green because it's what I had on hand. Everything was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Really good! Everyone loved it. Cooked the chicken and peppers first with salt, pepper, minced garlic and scallions. Then added the ingredients for the creamy herb sauce. Added the parm at the last 5 minutes (raised it to 1 cup) then tossed all with the rotini. Awesome! Next time will add more vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
added a little shredded parmesan & extra oregano on top when it was done -- very good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skylla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
With addition of ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was a good quick weeknight meal. I too didn't use four pans: one to boil the pasta, and one for everything else (chicken/veggies, then sauce ingredients, then mix everything together in it to serve). The sauce was pretty good but for using so much butter/cream/cheese it wasn't very rich tasting: definitely not an alfredo flavor, and not something I would spend so much in ingredients/calories on. In the future I would probably sub broth and a can of cream soup, or broth and some cream cheese. Definitely add more peppers/veggies. I only used 3 breasts with the written amount of pasta/sauce, and added 2 whole peppers right off the bat, and still thought there were too few. A nice dinner, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe, but thought it could use a little something more. I made as directed, with the exception of cooking the chicken with some chicken grill seasoning. Even so, it could have used more garlic, more herbs in the sauce, etc. A dash of red pepper flake might have been nice, too. I would say that the only thing that was excessive was the butter. That said, it was simple and we ate it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
So this was very good and I would definitely make it again, but it was a bit bland. I added paprika on top when i ate it, as well as salt and pepper, but it still needed something. More cheese? Something spicy? Im not sure, but I'll play with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal907

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States