Chicken Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Not thrilled with the turnout. I used 4 chicken breasts and per previous review, added another cup of chicken broth. It baked and looked fine but the taste was something to be desired. It was one of those meals where we all sat around the dinner table...eating in silence because no one wanted to comment on the obvious...that dinner was not that good. We ate it but quickly threw away the leftovers. I just think that different spices need to be used but can't say what. Sorry, I just won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
This is great! I've been making it for ages. One thing though... use 3 cups of chicken broth otherwise it is a little dry. I also substitue 3 teaspoons of dried basil for fresh. Increase the garlic to 6 cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
This was dry! Nothing like risotto i've tasted. It's ok. Seasonings were good, but it's not the greatest recipe. I wanted the rice to be more moist and sticky. It was dry.. more like pilaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosiella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
Way too garlicky...and we're garlic lovers! Is easy for a one-dish meal. As other reviews said...needs more liquid. I added 1/2 cup more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
This dish is delicious! Everyone loved it and asked for second helpings.It's even better re-heated the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
This is just an excellent-tasting recipe that is surprisingly easy to make. I usually leave out the green pepper and add more green onions. I also use chicken breasts for my husband because he doesn't care for thighs. It doesn't make much of a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
i really liked this dish, but made some adjustments to make it more flavourful. i chopped one medium onion and sauted it in a frying pan with some olive oil, then added the fresh mushrooms, 3 garlic cloves chopped and some diced zuccini. cook until mushrooms just wilted and still lots of liquid. add to caserole dish. i also added 3 cups chicken broth, on suggestion, and it worked well. one thing i don't like about this dish is that the chicken comes out bland. i tried salting the chicken pieces and then frying them for 8-10 mins (until golden brown on outside)in a bit of olive oil. still wasn't as i would have liked, but was better. also i used cream of asparagus soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
I used Basmati rice instead of white and perhaps this is why this recipe wasn't enjoyed by us. My husband and I didn't mind the first few bites, but after that, it went downhill. I would recommend more chicken broth as well and would not use flavored rice next time. Very easy to make though with more time to relax before supper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
This recipe was pretty good. I followed previous recommendations to increase the chicken broth. I used 3 cups and the rice cooked up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
This recipe was gross. I will never make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States