Chicken Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Enjoyed this....I definitely recommend the 3 cups of broth although I put in some white wine with this which gave it quite a distinctive flavor. Will definitely try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Tasted great. I only had instant rice on hand so instead of putting the rice in for the full hour; I put it in for the last 15min so it wouldn't get overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I think the flavor was okay, but the instructions for baking it was completely off the mark. This was one of my first times using a recipe from this web site, and I have learned a lesson the hard way....from now on, I will read the reviews before attempting a recipe. This baked in my oven for a total of two hours, and the rice was still not done. I added more chicken broth, and still had to cook it for another 45 minutes. My children just about gave up on dinner while waiting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
We did not care for this very much. I did make some adjustments though after reading all the reviews. I seasoned the chicken with seasoned salt, I added 1 cup white wine to the chicken broth, I used fresh garlic and onion (sauted), I used cream of broccoli soup, I added sliced zucchini, and I used part fresh basil and part dried. I'm not sure that these adjustments effected how this meal turned out although I wouldn't expect that it would have been much different. In any case, the rice and chicken was too dry, it was pretty flavorless and the little flavor that this did have just wasn't very good. Everyone just sorta picked at this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
This is horrible! I made the following modification based on reviewers: added an extra cup of broth, sauteed onions, garlic and mushrooms first before mixing. I baked it for 90 minutes and the rice was still hard. I proceeded to put it back in the oven for another 45 minutes and some parts came out done and other parts were still hard. On the part that was done, the flavor was not terrible - very bland except the strong taste of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARATHONMOMM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
This stuff was awesome...quick and easy to make too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Esterhazy, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This recipe is quite good but needs some adjustment. I found the rice to be too dry so - I would add about a half a cup less of rice. I must say - the garlic was so potent to smell but didn't taste potent. I will make it again with less rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
"It's...um...good." That's all I could manage to tell my boyfriend when he made this dry and tasteless dish for me last night. A surprisingly unexciting casserole, given the spices, garlic, and extra can of chicken broth he added. The only real flavor, and color for that matter, came from the breadcrumbs generously layered on top. If it's true risotto you're after, skip this bland and boring rice bake for something better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Good idea, but I, like others added to it. I saueteed onions, spinach, and chopped fresh tomatoes in olive oil. I added about 1 cup more chicken broth, and I pre-salted the chicken pieces. The chicken was properly seasoned, but the rest of the rice was too salty. Also, the rice remained crunchy even though I cooked the dish for about 2 hours. It took that long for the chicken to cook all the way through. I'll keep the recipe, but next time, I might partially cook the rice before adding it to the rest of the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
The recipe turned out excellent but I changed some things: I used organic chicken breast because we are a "no-bones" household, I used two boxes of alfredo rizotto (it is a different grain!) I also threw in the powdered alfredo sauce, I used fresh herbs and fresh onion minced, I also added fresh gaarlic minced, I put in more bell pepper half green and half orange. I did not have any bread crumbs so I over-toasted two slices of whole wheat bread. Everyone ate so much they had to go to bed early!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States