Chicken Riggies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Good recipe, but mom always made her riggies with hot cherry peppers from the jar - or better yet, fresh - instead of cubanelle peppers. Much more zip! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
this recipe came out great. My wife Loves Uticas' own Teddy's riggies. And she said this one was really close. I have made others without that compliment. Didn't have cubanelle peppers used roasted red peppers. Will be making this soon. Serves more like 8-10. No complaint here! Made Italian Parmesan Bread for Bread Machine went perfectly with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is the best righties yet. I tried some of the others but this is perfect! Great meal to prepare in a short time when unexpected guest arrive..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Love chicken riggies grow up eating it super happy to get the recipe in Virginia they never heard of it nor taste it gotta love CNY for the food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
CNY'er/Riggie Lover here - this is a great recipe, closest to the original I've had. Like many, I increased the amount of cream up to 1c. (but used light cream) and couldn't find cherry peppers so used peppadews instead. My suggestion for those who say it needs more flavor is double the garlic, make sure you season the chicken extra well while cooking, and maybe even add a splash of wine to the sauce before adding the pasta. Glad everyone is getting to know the riggies I grew up enjoying :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Love this recipe. We end up adding all kinds of veggies to it: zucchini, pepper, mushrooms. Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Of all the Riggie recipes on Allecipes this one is the closest to the traditional NY recipe. My husband is from Mohawk, NY, near Utica, and this is one of his favorite all time meals. I did make a few changes so that it was more like his sisters recipe. For the peppers I used 3 jalapenos, 1 habanero pepper, and 3 teaspoons of Asian chili garlic sauce (for all of you who thought this needed a kick you should try adding the chili garlic sauce, it makes any dish pop!). I also added a small can of black olives, a small can of mushrooms (you could use fresh), and I increased the the cream to 1 cup (to save calories you could use milk). The key to this recipe is letting it simmer before adding the rigatoni and cream. Just let everything else simmer on low covered in the pan for about 1 - 1 1/2 hours. This makes everything soft and flavorful. Them after an hour or so add the cream, let simmer for 10 minuets. Then cook your rigatoni. Then add the sauce to the cooked rigatoni. Stir well and serve. It's even better the next day after the sauce has absorbed into the rigatoni. Delicious! My Upstate New York Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I added some peppers from my garden and it spiced it up nicely. Great combination of flavors. Family loved it. The next day it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This was good, maybe a little spicy for me. But with noodles and garlic bread it wasn't too spicy...very good for the first time made. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
EXCELLENT! The only thing I did differently was to use a jar of pasta sauce in place of the crushed tomatoes...PERFECT! This was very easy to make and the taste was amazing. I will be using this recipe often~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Riggies

Watch how to make an amazing pasta sauce with chicken and sausage.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States