Chicken Riggies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Great recipe that my whole family enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Very good...having never had Chicken Riggies before, I wasn't sure what to expect, but really enjoyed the pink sherry cream sauce (we love pink vodka sauce, and this was similar) combined with the peppers. I did add both sweet red pepper strips as well as hot banana pepper rings. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This sounds great but without hot peppers it just isn't chicken riggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I used shrimp instead of chicken, and just added it in at the last five minutes of cooking. I also used half-and-half instead of heavy cream, letting it reduce for about 10-15 minutes on medium heat until thickened. Both modifications worked out very well and have no effect on my rating. However, authentic chicken riggies are supposed to be spicy! This had some flavor (although, granted, not much), but not the flavor any riggies I've had in upstate NY did. I dumped in half a bottle of hot sauce before I was satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This was a very good meal, awesome flavor. We did it low fat so we left out the cream sauce and butter. We served it over asparagus which really gave it great color. Totally a do-again meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAILINDAWG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
great recipe, great to make for company. wonderful flavor and richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Having never heard of Chicken Riggies, I tried this recipe on faith. Outstanding! I followed it exactly (okay, I don't actually measure anything, but still...). There was more sauce than I expected, so I served it up in a bowl with a spoon. When I commented that I thought I would use less liquid next time, my husband said he liked it the way it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Very good. I used evaporated milk instead of cream. I think next time I will substitute chicken broth for the sherry. It left a funny after taste in my humble opnion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Used fresh red pepper and fresh onion slices. Added about 1/4 cup instant mashed potato flakes to thicken. Honey loved it, me too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookpark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
We loved this recipe. I do try to make all new reciepes as written but, I didn't have any shallots so I used red onion. I didn't add the sherry either(I just don't like it). I did add some mushrooms buttons and they were a nice addition. After adding all the cream it was a bit runny, I tried to cook it down but it needed to be thickend a bit with corn starch. After that it was perfect. I will make this again and boy does it make enough, I bet at least 8 servings! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Riggies

Watch how to make an amazing pasta sauce with chicken and sausage.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States