Chicken Riggies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This was a huge hit at our house. Usually I have a 50% rate on anything guaranteed since 1/2 of my family will eat anything. This had a 100% which is not unheard of but more exclusive. I did not put in the sherry (we didnt have any on hand). I also used penne pasta the first time. Next I used rigatoni. The kids actually prefer penne so I will use that from now on. I saw other recipes that had actual alfreo sauce that was used in place of the cream. We dont like bottle alfredo sauce and my homemade is so rich this was not something we wanted to mix - so this recipe was perfect. We actually had company the third time I made this so I doubled it. They would have left with leftovers had there been any but they did leave with the recipe in hand. My kids will all fight over the leftovers on this recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charleroi, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was good, but... I can only give it 3 stars. I decided to try this recipe this past weekend for no other reason than it sounded good (I've never heard of "riggies" nor was I aware that it is a popular upstate NY dish). I would make this again - only with several modifications. I enjoy red peppers, and would recommend adding more next time (an entire 12 oz. jar - I used up all of a 7.25 oz. jar this time b/c 4 oz. didn't seem to be enough...). I would also add less cream and more tomato sauce and maybe spice things up a bit with a some of the juice from the red peppers, red pepper flakes or halof a jar of spicy peppers (or, if I have some on hand, just use a 1/2 cup of my homemade arrabbiata sauce in lieu of the tomato sauce called for). I think I'd also add some fresh coppped basil for color/flavor. One thing to note... My sauce seemed runny, so I added 2 tsp. cornstarch to 4 tsp. water, mixed well, stirred into the skillet and brought everything to a low boil to thicken. When tossed with the pasta, it was perfect! Served with garlic bread on the side, this makes for a very nice and filling meal. Thanks for sharing (even though my bf thinks "riggies" is a corny name for a pasta dish - hehe!!!!)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is a good Base recipe for Chicken Riggies. I have been making this for years. However, I do use fresh bell peppers and a couple of sliced peppers from the jar. I use 1/4c of the juice in the sauce, which makes it different from the others. If you end up with a runny mess then you either used the entire jar of peppers, including all the juices... or you used Margerine instead of Butter. Margerine will make it a runny mess. Add some tomato paste to thicken it up if you must. I also add mushrooms, onion wedges, and omit the olives. Using diff flavored wine changes this also. Once made it with blackberry wine from arbor mist and ppl were begging for the recipe, asking what I did to it. Enjoy and play around with the recipe, make it your own as I have done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oriskany, New York, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Very good recipe did not have shallots, so substituted with 1/4 cup green onions and 1/4 cup reg onion. Still turned out very well. in future want to try with soft bacon and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I was trying to use what I had in my pantry this week and this recipe popped up. Though I have to admit that my tomato sauce was canned, and I added fresh parsley and basil (my sauce was begging for green) - I otherwise followed the recipe. The guys loved it - an easy, yummy dinner with ingredients I almost always have on hand. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I decided to be unhealthy and use the heavy cream and boy am I glad I did! This was really good. The only change I made to the original recipe was to add some fresh mushrooms. Served it with a small Caesar salad and Texas toast. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
So much fat and calories so you can't eat this all the time, but it is very good! The roasted bell peppers added lots of flavor and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Exellent Recipe however, I have made a few modifications. I use fresh peppers. red and yellow for color. I also include 3 or 4 jalipino peppers for some kick. Instead of the called for amount of marinara I use a 28oz can of crushed tomatoes or my favriot, Dom Peppinos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This was an easy, inexpensive dish. The flavor was very subtle. I used less than a pint of cream and next time I would use even less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe! I cut it in half, which, when I used Allrecipes conversion, wasn't quite perfect, but it was still delicious. I added some chicken stock to keep it from drying out. Note: when you cook your pasta al dente, it will absorb the cooking liquid, so you may want to leave your sauce a little runny. I served this with a side salad and homemade rolls. Hubby had seconds (and thirds).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Riggies

Watch how to make an amazing pasta sauce with chicken and sausage.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States