Chicken Riggies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This was really delicious! I used no butter, more garlic, onion instead of shallot, and fresh red peppers. I increased the sherry to 1/2 a cup (and it could use even more!), and I wish I hadn't added the cream. The sauce tasted better before the cream. Will definitely make again with no cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Lyn Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I love this recipe. I am 10 miles east of Utica, so I have been introduced to several different types. I had introduced it to NC, Washington state and other places I have visited. The only thing I did to make like easier was use regular onions & substitute sweet pepper with hot cherry peppers. I now have to make the recipe times 4 because my kids, my boyfriend and my nephews, etc. all like them so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
It was a good recipe since I'm from that area..I have had Spicer versions..this is much more mild.it does have good flavor tho I will make again adding more red pepper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Absolutely my favourite chicken riggies recipe on here. I don't use the olives due to my honey's taste preference. But oh this one makes me smile. Thank you a million times over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valinutah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Delicious and really easy! You need a solid 45 min to do this one but it's totally worth it! The only reason you need that much time is because the cooking is in stages, not because it is all that involved or complex. I made this recipe for just 2 people and still ended up using half of the adjusted cream amount so do what the other reviewers suggested, and add the cream slowly so you can see how thin/thick the sauce gets. I didn't have sherry and substituted vinegar and sugar instead. Also didn't have the peppers but added a dash of cracked red pepper and sliced green olives instead. Lastly, I only had spicy tomato sauce instead of fresh tomatoes and this proved delicious too! Definitely making this again! Served with spinach salad and warm garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I made half the recipe following instructions. Everyone agreed that there was too much oil in this. Thanks for sharing something for me to try; just did not fit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I use hot cherry peppers instead. Our favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I thought this was a good recipe. Only thing I changed was to add about 1/4c. of shredded parm in the end. It thickened everything up and gave it a great flavor. I will make this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Way, as in WAY better with rice. The leftovers are worthy of Kate or Pippa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLakeshore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was ok , just not what we like . It needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Riggies

Watch how to make an amazing pasta sauce with chicken and sausage.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States