Chicken, Rice and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Excellent! We woke up with colds and I needed some chicken soup and this really filled the bill. It didn't say whether the chicken should be precooked so I assumed it should and boiled it in 5 cups water with added garlic and spices. Then I used the broth in place of the water. It was delicious. I would definitely recommend adding the spices - garlic, thyme, bay leaf. Everything else according to recipe was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
This was the best soup ever, I used brown rice instead of the white, but it was excellent. I made it at work in a crock pot. All the other employees wanted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This soup was great. I really wanted a simple chicken rice soup and this was perfect. I changed a couple of things: I used equal parts water and canned chicken broth and more chicken than the recipe called for. I sauteed the chicken with a little salt and pepper before adding to soup and I added a little bit of extra rice. My husband loved it and commented on how wonderful and homey it smelled after walking in from the cold. Thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This is a very basic chicken soup recipe and quick to make. I wanted more veggies, so I added 1/2 a bag of frozen mixed vegetables and omitted the carrots (since they are in the bag). I had to add a little more chicken bouillon as I found the broth a little weak. It's very bland even after adding some basil and thyme. Although I appreciate its ease, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
The suggested thyme, bay leaf and sage are an absolute must for terrific flavor. We really enjoyed this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARK_AMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Haslet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Great soup. I doubled the recipe, then added even more chicken, celery and carrots, and then added some barley to make it extra hearty (this is the only way my husband likes soup). If I had cheyenne pepper, it would have been the perfect addition to this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Carlton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Very quick and easy soup to make. My family loved it. I added the thyme, bay leaf and sage also and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I thought this was a great recipe! Very simple. I baked the chicken with seasoning salt, pepper and a little garlic before adding it to the soup. I also added chopped mushrooms to the carrots, celery and onion. Next time I would like to try with wild rice. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This was a very hearty and delicious soup. I have a cold and decided to try your recipe and it was perfect. Just like mama says..chicken soup is good for a cold. Thanks for posting. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calliecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 10, 2000
A bit ordinary, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States