Chicken, Rice and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Excellent soup! Like the other reviewers, I added garlic, thyme, and a bay leaf. I also added a few more veggies (red pepper & corn) and sauteed the onions in butter before adding them to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I used chicken thigh meat and brown rice. YUM. May use less carrots next time -- they were a bit overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I am always looking for healthy meals that will suit mommy, daddy and toddler. This is a really healthy meal, but as written a little on the bland side. I made as is the first time, and just ended up freezing in small batches for my one year old. The second go round, I added parsley; bay leaf; garlic; thyme; and sage(it was great). The proportions are great in this recipe, but I think it needs a few herbs to add flavor, as we all enjoyed it the second time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I try to always follow a recipe as written the first time. This was tasteless. I added thyme, bay leaf and sage to try to overcome the blandness. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Excellent! We woke up with colds and I needed some chicken soup and this really filled the bill. It didn't say whether the chicken should be precooked so I assumed it should and boiled it in 5 cups water with added garlic and spices. Then I used the broth in place of the water. It was delicious. I would definitely recommend adding the spices - garlic, thyme, bay leaf. Everything else according to recipe was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Super easy and delicious soup. I too, added some thyme and a bay leaf. Very good winter comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe. I did add Thyme and sage but followed the recipe otherwise. It was very flavorful and my picky 3 year old ate it!! I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Very quick and easy soup to make. My family loved it. I added the thyme, bay leaf and sage also and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
The suggested thyme, bay leaf and sage are an absolute must for terrific flavor. We really enjoyed this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARK_AMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Haslet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This was a very hearty and delicious soup. I have a cold and decided to try your recipe and it was perfect. Just like mama says..chicken soup is good for a cold. Thanks for posting. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calliecat

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States