Chicken, Rice and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I was so pleasantly surprised at how good this turned out! I was a little skeptical, because I usually make chicken soups (chicken noodle, chicken corn, etc.) by boiling a chicken, making my own stock, adding my own herbs and spices, etc. But I needed something quick to throw together for a light dinner. This was perfect. I did add a small palmful each of thyme, sage, and parsley to this recipe, as well as one bay leaf. Some freshly ground pepper finished it off. Didn't need salt with the bouillon. I felt a little more chicken (2 small breasts) and rice (almost double the amount in the recipe) suited our preferences as well. So with the modifications I made, this was definitely a 5. So yummy and comforting. And came together so quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emsderfer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is a delicious soup recipe! Some veggie soups are just so blah! But I took some others suggestions and added thyme and a few bay leaves. I used organic fat free chicken broth instead of water. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harleydeluxegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
perfect! I made with leftovers. I also made it gluten free with herb ox bullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This is a yummy, basic recipe and was very quick to make! I recommend not using the bouillon if you're cutting back on salt intake, just add a bit more broth on the water/broth ratio. Also, we didn't use rice but used organic quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Excellent! I make this whenever I have leftover roasted chicken, and I add the drippings (with the fat skimmed off) for a bit of extra flavor. I want to try this with wild rice and a bit of cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Great recipe, this was the first soup I ever made, I didn't have broth or bouillon so instead I used two cream of chicken condensed soups and it worked out perfect. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Great recipe! I added pickled jalapenos... DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This is a very basic recipe that needs some work. It comes off a bit bland, water down tasting for us. After making it as instructed, I had to take the advice of several other reviewers in order to give it a kick. I supposed for upset stomach it would be good but for any other time it needs a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I've made this about 5 times and it is just really nice and light and great with a hunk of French bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Very good. Add thyme and bayleaf for flavour. Use more broth in place of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warwick, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Tumbler Ridge, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States