Chicken, Rice and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
It was the best soup I have ever had! I used an extra chicken breast which I fried up a bit first. Also used double the amount of broth and double the amound of rice just to make it extra hearty!!! DELICIOUS! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very simple recipe that leaves a lot of room for variation. I used my dutch oven to cook the cubed chicken breast, then added stock and water (more stock than water). Once it came to a simmer I added the rice, then I added a bag of frozen mixed vegetables in the last 5 minutes. One trick to making the broth more flavorful in such a short time without fresh herbs it to measure out dried herbs (I also used dried minced garlic) into a coffee filter, tie that up and drop it in. All the flavor without the little bits. This recipe definitely satisfied me on this cold dreary day and is great because it uses ingredients I almost always have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I absolutely love this soup. It's so easy to make and it's pretty healthy. My fiance refuses to eat any other chicken soup, and he always asks me to make it for him. Everyone else who's tried it also tells me how delicious it is. The only thing I add in is a little minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sultan, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I got a lot more flavor by using the dark meat of chicken - thighs and/or legs, plus the bones. Then you can reduce the bouillon, which I think gives a poorer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I was so pleasantly surprised at how good this turned out! I was a little skeptical, because I usually make chicken soups (chicken noodle, chicken corn, etc.) by boiling a chicken, making my own stock, adding my own herbs and spices, etc. But I needed something quick to throw together for a light dinner. This was perfect. I did add a small palmful each of thyme, sage, and parsley to this recipe, as well as one bay leaf. Some freshly ground pepper finished it off. Didn't need salt with the bouillon. I felt a little more chicken (2 small breasts) and rice (almost double the amount in the recipe) suited our preferences as well. So with the modifications I made, this was definitely a 5. So yummy and comforting. And came together so quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emsderfer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is a delicious soup recipe! Some veggie soups are just so blah! But I took some others suggestions and added thyme and a few bay leaves. I used organic fat free chicken broth instead of water. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harleydeluxegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
perfect! I made with leftovers. I also made it gluten free with herb ox bullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This is a yummy, basic recipe and was very quick to make! I recommend not using the bouillon if you're cutting back on salt intake, just add a bit more broth on the water/broth ratio. Also, we didn't use rice but used organic quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Excellent! I make this whenever I have leftover roasted chicken, and I add the drippings (with the fat skimmed off) for a bit of extra flavor. I want to try this with wild rice and a bit of cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Great recipe, this was the first soup I ever made, I didn't have broth or bouillon so instead I used two cream of chicken condensed soups and it worked out perfect. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States