Chicken, Rice and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I'm trying hard to rate this fairly. I would give it a five for ease of preparation and basic guidelines, and a three because it was so obvious to me that I would have to make adjustments. So, I think an average of four is fair. Firstly, I reversed the proportion of water to chicken stock. Four cups of chicken stock and 14.5 ounces of water have much less sodium than a 14.5 ounce can of chicken broth and two bouillon cubes ... and it tastes so much more natural. I lightly sauteed the chicken and sweated the vegetables in olive oil to add flavor, and proceeded from there. Added dried thyme, oregano and parsley in addition to salt and pepper. But again, a high five to Gary Coveney for the inspiration and for a recipe that can be easily tweaked to taste. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This soup was absolutely delish..I made it for myself..I had friends stop by they said..what is that smell..I said I made soup...its the middle of summer....haha...and they loved it.. Instead of the boneless chicken breast I bought Drumbstics put 4 drumsticks in the water and chicken broth... I added some cabbage, 3 red potatoes cut up into squares, corn, minced garlic and one clove and brown rice..with a bit of hot sauce..you have to pay attention when adding salt and pepper cause it is for taste....throw the hot sauce in your personal bowl...adds much more flavor....My favorite..and I even froze the left overs...I will have it some other time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This is the easiest and tastiest recipe! I've made it so many times and my husband loves it to! I don't even make any adjustments because it's perfect comfort food:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This recipe is fantastic for using extra cooked chicken or frozen cooked chicken. A complete success. We love it and recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
great recipe, dd was sick made this for her, used fresh chicken breat that I boiled in the water and chicken broth, added salt, pepper , garlic, thyme. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
pretty good; need to play with proportions of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
It was the best soup I have ever had! I used an extra chicken breast which I fried up a bit first. Also used double the amount of broth and double the amound of rice just to make it extra hearty!!! DELICIOUS! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very simple recipe that leaves a lot of room for variation. I used my dutch oven to cook the cubed chicken breast, then added stock and water (more stock than water). Once it came to a simmer I added the rice, then I added a bag of frozen mixed vegetables in the last 5 minutes. One trick to making the broth more flavorful in such a short time without fresh herbs it to measure out dried herbs (I also used dried minced garlic) into a coffee filter, tie that up and drop it in. All the flavor without the little bits. This recipe definitely satisfied me on this cold dreary day and is great because it uses ingredients I almost always have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I absolutely love this soup. It's so easy to make and it's pretty healthy. My fiance refuses to eat any other chicken soup, and he always asks me to make it for him. Everyone else who's tried it also tells me how delicious it is. The only thing I add in is a little minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sultan, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I got a lot more flavor by using the dark meat of chicken - thighs and/or legs, plus the bones. Then you can reduce the bouillon, which I think gives a poorer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States