Chicken, Rice and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Made it as written - great soup. Will be even better tomorrow!!! A little hot sauce added when you eat it makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I added broccoli, red potatoes, corn on a Cobb and ditched the onions. I did not use chicken broth and added a little more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Tweaked it quite a bit, but I don't think you could go wrong with this recipe. My boyfriend actually said he could eat it forever, haha! I first sauteed the onion and about four garlic cloves in margarine. I didn't have any broth so I just used 3 chicken bouillons and 1 beef bouillon. I took another person's suggestion and added bay leaves (3), about a tsp each of sage, thyme, and parsley. I felt a bit wild and also added about 1 tbsp montreal seasoning (it made it pretty spicy but it was definitely delicious). I also wanted to make it a bit more of a whole meal so I added about three cups frozen vegetables (California style, but I'm sure anything would do). And I used about 1 lb chicken breast--just threw it in frozen initially with the water and let it boil for about twenty or thirty minutes. All in all, it was easy and delicious and I'll be making this often! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I doubled the ingredients and added a little bit of sage, bay leaves, garlic and a pinch of kosher salt. I also added 1 chicken/tomato bouillon to top it off and it came out excellent! Its ready within an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
My family loves this recipe! Easy and delicious is my kind of dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I followed recommendations and added thyme, sage and bay leaf. DELICIOUS. In addition to the recipe i also added one potato, sliced and peas and instead of celery I added celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I wanted to somehow incorporate butter into the soup so I sauteed the veggies in butter for about 2-3 minutes before adding the stock, water and buillion. I added the chicken when the liquid was boiling. I would also add extra salt or bouillon whenever I added water. My pot wasn't big enough so I cooked the rice separately on the rice cooker and just constructed the dish in the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hereford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I used brown rice instead of the white rice, threw in some cut up fresh green beans, added some sage, parsley and basil and cooked it a little longer than called for. I didn't measure but I know I used more chicken, celery, onions and carrots as well. Also used bullion cubes and filtered water instead of the broth. As I was using boneless skinless chicken, I didn't pre-cook it at all, just cut it up and threw it in. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Used brown rice instead and no canned broth, and let it simmer for much longer for flavor , yummy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This is so easy and delicious! I made a triple batch. I did add some thyme, bay leaf and sage as suggested by others. Here are my helpful tips: 1. You must use rice that is not quick cooking. Use the old fashioned kind. If you use the 5 minute variety it will get very mushy. 2. Use one of those big rotisserie chicks from Sams or Costco. So easy and so yummy. I pulled the legs and wings off and saved for my teenager. I used all the meat for a triple batch but still have enough left for a quesadilla later this week! And that chicken was only $4.88. That is a deal. 3. Sautee all the vegetables a bit in the pot before adding anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States