Chicken, Rice, and Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I make this a tad differently. I use leftover chicken, cream of celery soup and only 1/2 cup of mayonnaise. Sometimes I add water chestnuts too if I have them. Very much a comfort food and sometimes I grill extra chicken just so I can make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was delicious! I only had Miracle Whip so I used 1/2 cup of that instead of a whole cup. I also used white rice and topped the casserole with cheese. I am watching my fiancee scarf it down straight from the casserole dish as I type. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
i've made this for years but make a few changes: shred the chicken instead of "chunk" it, omit oil (not at all needed), use light sour cream instead of mayo (to make healthier, altho the mayo tastes great too!), use low sodium soup, use low sodium chicken broth instead of water (low sodium b/c uncle ben's wild rice seasoning packet is so salty). and then when it's finished, crumble fried onion rings on top, or cheese, or both! and broil til brown it really is a delicious recipe, and coming from someone who can't stand canned green beans, that's saying a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I loved this recipe, but the rest of my family didn't enjoy it because the mayonnaise was too strong. If I make it again, I'll cut back on the mayo, and possibly add a little velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This was easy to make and pretty tasty - a good weeknight dinner. Next time I will just cook the rice according to the package instructions, though - adding extra water per the recipe is pointless and draining it just adds an extra step. I also happily cut the mayo down to 1/2 cup based on other reviews. A full cup would have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was a winner in my house of picky eaters. I accidently bought zatarans newo orleans style wild rice but used it anyway. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This recipe was outstanding!Only thing I changed was american cheese in center 6 slices and crispy french fried onoins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I used half the micracle whip that the receipe asked for, and wouldn't have used more -- it was great, we had very little leftover!!! Next time I may try biscuits on top, or on the side - we do believe it will be a staple in our family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Very easy to throw together on a week night. I used left over chicken breast, and omitted the mayo altogether. Added about 3/4 cup fat-free sour cream and a little of the liquid from the rice. It was still pretty thick. Also sprinkled some parmesan cheese on top - b/c we LOVE cheese! Next time, I'll add more cheese and some seasoning (salt, pepper, garlic powder?) Needed a little something - maybe b/c I didn't use mayo? My kids wouldn't eat it....but they don't eat anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Excellent! To make a bit healthier I used half greek plain yogurt and half cottage cheese in place of the mayo. Also added some salt and pepper and used a rotisserie chicken instead of cooking chicken. Was easier to microwave for 9 min then broil rather than use the oven and heat up the house in the middle of summer in Phoenix! Probably is great the way it is but this is what we liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsiever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States