Chicken Rice Mexicana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
It was an alright recipe but I made a few changes and it was amazing first I added fajita seasoning to the chicken first then I used a Mexican brown rice instead of white and I and I also cooked six strips of bacon then added them to the chicken mixture and I used mushrooms and I also used cheddar instead of Monterey mmmmmm was so good five stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Super tasty & super easy! I did what another reviewer said & added taco seasoning to the sauce mix. So awesome! This will be a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Tried it but used vegetables I had on hand, peas, carrots and corn. And didn't have white rice, had brown rice. Came out good. Added salsa for extra kick. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I was the original poster of this recipe YEARS ago (before they even registered users) and I see that there is an ingredient that was omitted. It is supposed to have a package of taco seasoning added with the soup and milk. I saw at least one reviewer who suggested that change. :) I love all the ideas and suggestions from others, too. It's just what is great about AllRecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crankybug
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bethanyjoy1
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was a great recipe from which I started...then added veggies as I had on hand; carrots, snap peas, yellow pepper; I used a rotisserie chicken and cream of celery soup; I added marjoram. I love layered casseroles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethanyjoy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I love this recipe. We add fajita seasoning to the chicken, 1/2 cup salsa to the rice, and use sour cream and salsa when served. It is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
My family loved this dish. They couldn't get enough of it. I added cumin and green chilis to the chicken mixture and put salsa on top of the top layer of rice and then topped it with the cheese it was fantabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POUNCIEKITTEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This was good stuff. I did tweak it a bit though. I sauteed my chicken with the peppers and onions and then sprinkled it all with Taco Seasoning I (from this site). I also used pepper jack cheese, and mixed the chicken mixture into the rice rather than layering it. I loved how simple this was to prepare, and I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
It was good, one change besides the sour cream as some of you have metioned will be to add some of the cheese in a middle layer to have more cheese alaround, not just on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Great, quick dinner! I used a bagged, frozen pepper/onion blend, added some corn, and used Cream of Chicken instead of mushroom. Also threw in a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles. When it was served, I crumbled tortilla chips on top and added a dollup of sour cream. I think I'll try it in the crock pot next time and throw in the rice when I get home after work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States