Chicken Provolone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This is an excellent company coming dinner, I'm making it today for 18 people tonight! I can make this now, 10 a.m., refrigerate and pop in the oven an hour before serving, doesn't get easier. I love all the different suggestions and everyone will work, that is the best part about a caserolle like this. Remember the alchahol in the wine evaporates when it is cooked, so it is a flavor only. I have made this many times over the past 5 years and no one has been disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Yeah boy this is da b-o-m-b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This recipe was good. I changed it a bit though. I sauteed onions and garlic then added the white wine and a about 1/3 cup of chicken broth. Then, I lightly cooked the chicken in the white wine mixture before adding the chicken to the pan and topping it with double the amount of provolone - I love provolone! Then, I combined the cream of mushroom soup with the white wine mixture and poured the mixture over the chicken and provolone. I topped it off with crispy fried onions and baked it. I would recommend serving this with green beans - the flavors go well together and the dish needs something more . . . so the green beans make it poifect. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This is very similiar to Cathy's Creamy Chicken Bake on this site. Cathy's differs from this in the proportions of ingredients and that it uses Swiss rather than Provolone. I could barely taste the cheese in this dish - maybe a whole slice of cheese would work better -or maybe this just works better with Swiss. Also Cathy's uses only 1 can of soup and 1 cup of stuffing. Yes, there is less sauce, but who needs all that cream of chicken soup? If I were to make this again, I would follow Cathy's Creamy Chicken Bake, substituting the Provolone for the Swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I really enjoyed this but I like a crunchier topping so it suited me well. I didn't have wine so used chicken stock. I also omitted the butter and mixed the dressing with half of one of the cans of cream of chicken soup. I found it very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milverton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
There was too much wine in this recipe... and I like wine! It kind of made me sick. I also didn't really like the cream of chicken soup. Maybe I would try cream of mushroom??? Also... if I were to make some version of it in the future... I would make the stuffing according to the recipe on the box and then bake over the top of all ingredients. I didn't like how the stuffing was hard on top when I followed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This dish was amazing. However, when I followed this recipe I discovered that unless you cook the chicken first, which is not stated in the recipe, you will need to cook this dish at 365 degrees for an hour or so. NOT 30 MINUTES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Definite comfort food! Not great for the waistline, but very tasty. I made many of the suggested changes: cut recipe in 1/2, used about 1/4 cup of chardonay and 1/3 cup of low fat milk, pre-seasoned the chicken breasts with garlic pepper and sea salt, and made the stuffing before adding it to the top of the chicken. Very yummy. DH and son practically licked their plates clean. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I'm glad I read the other reviews first, it helped me tweak this to a great meal. I salt/peppered the chicken prior to placing it in the dish, used double the amount of cheese, added sauteed onion, garlic and scallions to the wine/soup (reduced sodium, which is good, because it was pretty salty anyway) mixture. I also cut the wine down to 1/2 cup; and finally, as suggested, I prepared the stovetop stuffing prior to placing over the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This recipe was not at all what I expected. I followed it to a T (excluding the white wine, my children don't like the taste) and it turned out horrible. My husband liked it that's the only reason I rated it 2 stars.Not a dish I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States