Chicken Pot Pies with Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Great results, used fresh potatoes and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
My family loved it, I made it in a casserole dish like a lot of others, I used cheddar cheese instead of swiss cheese and a can of sweet peas, then followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Sydnor
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I followed the general flow of this recipe, but changed some ingredients to what I had on hand. Microwaved 3/4 lbs of mixed vegetables, less 1 minute from doneness. Chopped and diced 7 small red potatoes, boiled until done. Chopped chicken and boiled in 2 cups of chicken broth, then scooped it out, and added a can of cream of mushroom, 2 Tbsp minced onion, and the spices to the leftover broth. Add more broth if the mixture looks too dry. Sprinkled grated swiss cheese on the bottom of each individual container, scooped the vegetable-chicken mixture into the containers, and topped with more cheese. Used 3 sheets thawed phyllo dough, layered with olive oil between sheets. Cut the layered dough into thirds, fold over (for a total of 6 sheets per pie), place on top of each pie mixture and tuck in around the sides. Paint with another layer of olive oil and sprinkle a little more swiss on top. Bake 30 to 40 minutes in 350 degree oven. Husband loved it. Will make it again, and will try puff pastry next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I added some celery, garlic and salt. I made mine in a casserole dish cause I didn't have individual ones to make it in. Turned out good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is my go-to recipe when I have left over rotisserie chicken from the market. I did take a tip from another reviewer and cut back on the chicken broth and added a can of cream of chicken soup with herbs. I also prefer fresh veggies, so I dice Yukon gold potatoes and carrots, boil them in water for about 15 minutes, then add them to the sauce (after draining of course). I didn't have cheese the last time, but it turned out really good anyway. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sahuarita, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
So easy, and one of my husband's favourites. I omit the potatoes and instead add celery and peas. I also cut down on the broth so it's not as soupy - sometimes by as much as a cup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by urbansunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Loved this! I used fresh peas and carrots, which came out al dente, just the way we like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MountainMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is a great recipe! You can use any variation of veggies in it. I would recommend using only about two and a half cups of broth and half of the butter. I added a little chicken bullion to it as well. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Like many others I used this as a general idea and made changes to make it better for me. Turned out great. Here is what I did reduced it to 2 cups chicken broth and added one can of cream of chicken soup substituted onion flakes with minced onions. about a tablespoon substituted pepper sauce with cayenne pepper. about half a teaspoon substituted the carrots and potatoes with one 15 oz can of mixed vegetables. substituted puff pastry with a pie crust Other than these changes I followed the recipe. Cant wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Flynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Great!!!! My family loved them and it was perfect for my weekly meal plan. I made them on Sunday and served them on Wed. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States