Chicken Pot Pie with Cheddar Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I made this last night! It fed seven grown men, 4 little girls and one woman. Had to make a second batch of the crust to use up all the filling. We made 8 individual pot pies and one large one. I followed the recipe almost exactly, with the exception of using mixed veggies-Carrots, Corn, Green Beans and Peas. I did everything else according to the directions. The crust was a tad bit on the dry side, I think it could of used just a little more water. All in all it was a huge hit at my house. I fed all those men unexpectedly, and I am glad this recipe provided such a large amount. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I only used the crust and made my own filling. The crust was a bit hard and tasteless. I love the idea of a cheddar crust, but will be looking elsewhere for a recipe for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Five stars for the crust! Used it for my French Canadian Tourtiere and it complimented it nicely. I will do the Chicken Pot Pie recipe some day, but had to say thank you for the crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
After all the time and energy that goes into preparing this dish, it was quite tasty. This is definitely a rainy day recipe when one has nothing else to do but play in the kitchen. Peas would also have been a nice addition to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Fantastic recipe and worth the prep time. I did not have any cream so I substituted with 1/2 can of cream of mushroom soup. I also added some peas. The cheddar crust is flaky and crisp. My family ate the entire pie. I split the veggies and chicken in half to feed 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jannette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This recipe has has so many options! I basicly followed the recipe but toss in extra veggies and used a can of turky I had and veggie broth. Came home from work had it in the oven within an hour. Great lunch to take to work for winter, yes it makes a good amout for two! This is one of those recipes you could clean out your frig to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This recipe was really yummy and made a huge amount! However, it did take almost an hour of labor to do. I made a few revisions that made it a little easier. I used my turkey leftovers instead of simmering the chicken. Then when it called for the broth I used 2c water + 2t bullion. I boiled all the veggies together: putting the potatoes and carrots in first, then about 8-10 minutes later I added the celery, onion and some other veggies I had in the fridge, and boiled it for another 3-5 minutes. I skipped step 3 entirely. I added garlic powder and seasoned salt to the sauce for extra flavor. I also had to add extra ice water to the crust to make it stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I don't even have enough pots to put this recipe together! My own recipe is much simpler. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ilford, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I had leftover turkey and veggies and needed a nice crust recipe. I found this and thought it looked pretty good. It was pretty easy to make the crust and we all enjoyed it! I didn't have any butter in the house so I used some I can't believe it's not butter in the plastic tub and it still seemed to turn out fine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This recipe is okay, but when I put this much time into a meal I want it to be much more remarkable. As written, this recipe is very bland, even after I added poultry seasoning to the sauce. Will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States