Chicken Pot Pie with Cheddar Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I don't even have enough pots to put this recipe together! My own recipe is much simpler. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ilford, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Queenstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This recipe was really yummy and made a huge amount! However, it did take almost an hour of labor to do. I made a few revisions that made it a little easier. I used my turkey leftovers instead of simmering the chicken. Then when it called for the broth I used 2c water + 2t bullion. I boiled all the veggies together: putting the potatoes and carrots in first, then about 8-10 minutes later I added the celery, onion and some other veggies I had in the fridge, and boiled it for another 3-5 minutes. I skipped step 3 entirely. I added garlic powder and seasoned salt to the sauce for extra flavor. I also had to add extra ice water to the crust to make it stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This recipe has has so many options! I basicly followed the recipe but toss in extra veggies and used a can of turky I had and veggie broth. Came home from work had it in the oven within an hour. Great lunch to take to work for winter, yes it makes a good amout for two! This is one of those recipes you could clean out your frig to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Great Pie crust recipe. I actually used my own recipe for the filling but I really liked the pie crust. Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
After all the time and energy that goes into preparing this dish, it was quite tasty. This is definitely a rainy day recipe when one has nothing else to do but play in the kitchen. Peas would also have been a nice addition to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Five stars for the crust! Used it for my French Canadian Tourtiere and it complimented it nicely. I will do the Chicken Pot Pie recipe some day, but had to say thank you for the crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This recipe is okay, but when I put this much time into a meal I want it to be much more remarkable. As written, this recipe is very bland, even after I added poultry seasoning to the sauce. Will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Fantastic recipe and worth the prep time. I did not have any cream so I substituted with 1/2 can of cream of mushroom soup. I also added some peas. The cheddar crust is flaky and crisp. My family ate the entire pie. I split the veggies and chicken in half to feed 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jannette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I had leftover turkey and veggies and needed a nice crust recipe. I found this and thought it looked pretty good. It was pretty easy to make the crust and we all enjoyed it! I didn't have any butter in the house so I used some I can't believe it's not butter in the plastic tub and it still seemed to turn out fine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I give this recipe 2 stars...I can't rate it completely fair though, because I only used the cheddar crust. I hate to give negative reviews, but this crust was dry, tasteless, and very hard. I felt like it needed a lot more butter and more water to hold it together, and also a tsp of salt should've been stirred in with the flour. Sorry, I think the idea of a cheddar crust is a good one, but it needs to be more of a crust and not a hard, stale, giant cracker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States