Chicken Pot Pie with Cheddar Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
To be honest I just used the crust with my own pot pie filling. It turned out wonderful. Saved it for future use. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Based on the reviews that said this recipe was bland, I swapped out the original spices and used instead the spices from Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts recipe from this site. I've never made a crust before, and didn't measure the water - simply added it until the dough started staying together - but it turned out very well, although not as cheesy as I was hoping. I also boiled all the vegetables in homemade chicken broth and pan-fried chicken breasts, which cut out some of the prep time. It still took a good hour of prep though - definitely a weekend meal. I cut the recipe in half and even after my bf and I had seconds, there is still plenty left over. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I used a different filling, but made the crust this recipe calls for. It was a great idea at first. It was flavorless, and rubbery. I made it according to recipe, rolled ( it was very hard to roll out) and cooked. Ended up having to cook and extra ten minutes and could have went another 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I made this last night! It fed seven grown men, 4 little girls and one woman. Had to make a second batch of the crust to use up all the filling. We made 8 individual pot pies and one large one. I followed the recipe almost exactly, with the exception of using mixed veggies-Carrots, Corn, Green Beans and Peas. I did everything else according to the directions. The crust was a tad bit on the dry side, I think it could of used just a little more water. All in all it was a huge hit at my house. I fed all those men unexpectedly, and I am glad this recipe provided such a large amount. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I only used the crust and made my own filling. The crust was a bit hard and tasteless. I love the idea of a cheddar crust, but will be looking elsewhere for a recipe for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I give this recipe 2 stars...I can't rate it completely fair though, because I only used the cheddar crust. I hate to give negative reviews, but this crust was dry, tasteless, and very hard. I felt like it needed a lot more butter and more water to hold it together, and also a tsp of salt should've been stirred in with the flour. Sorry, I think the idea of a cheddar crust is a good one, but it needs to be more of a crust and not a hard, stale, giant cracker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I had leftover turkey and veggies and needed a nice crust recipe. I found this and thought it looked pretty good. It was pretty easy to make the crust and we all enjoyed it! I didn't have any butter in the house so I used some I can't believe it's not butter in the plastic tub and it still seemed to turn out fine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Fantastic recipe and worth the prep time. I did not have any cream so I substituted with 1/2 can of cream of mushroom soup. I also added some peas. The cheddar crust is flaky and crisp. My family ate the entire pie. I split the veggies and chicken in half to feed 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jannette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This recipe is okay, but when I put this much time into a meal I want it to be much more remarkable. As written, this recipe is very bland, even after I added poultry seasoning to the sauce. Will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Five stars for the crust! Used it for my French Canadian Tourtiere and it complimented it nicely. I will do the Chicken Pot Pie recipe some day, but had to say thank you for the crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States