Chicken Pot Pie with Cheddar Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
To be honest I just used the crust with my own pot pie filling. It turned out wonderful. Saved it for future use. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Based on the reviews that said this recipe was bland, I swapped out the original spices and used instead the spices from Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts recipe from this site. I've never made a crust before, and didn't measure the water - simply added it until the dough started staying together - but it turned out very well, although not as cheesy as I was hoping. I also boiled all the vegetables in homemade chicken broth and pan-fried chicken breasts, which cut out some of the prep time. It still took a good hour of prep though - definitely a weekend meal. I cut the recipe in half and even after my bf and I had seconds, there is still plenty left over. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I used a different filling, but made the crust this recipe calls for. It was a great idea at first. It was flavorless, and rubbery. I made it according to recipe, rolled ( it was very hard to roll out) and cooked. Ended up having to cook and extra ten minutes and could have went another 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I made this last night! It fed seven grown men, 4 little girls and one woman. Had to make a second batch of the crust to use up all the filling. We made 8 individual pot pies and one large one. I followed the recipe almost exactly, with the exception of using mixed veggies-Carrots, Corn, Green Beans and Peas. I did everything else according to the directions. The crust was a tad bit on the dry side, I think it could of used just a little more water. All in all it was a huge hit at my house. I fed all those men unexpectedly, and I am glad this recipe provided such a large amount. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I only used the crust and made my own filling. The crust was a bit hard and tasteless. I love the idea of a cheddar crust, but will be looking elsewhere for a recipe for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I give this recipe 2 stars...I can't rate it completely fair though, because I only used the cheddar crust. I hate to give negative reviews, but this crust was dry, tasteless, and very hard. I felt like it needed a lot more butter and more water to hold it together, and also a tsp of salt should've been stirred in with the flour. Sorry, I think the idea of a cheddar crust is a good one, but it needs to be more of a crust and not a hard, stale, giant cracker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I had leftover turkey and veggies and needed a nice crust recipe. I found this and thought it looked pretty good. It was pretty easy to make the crust and we all enjoyed it! I didn't have any butter in the house so I used some I can't believe it's not butter in the plastic tub and it still seemed to turn out fine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Fantastic recipe and worth the prep time. I did not have any cream so I substituted with 1/2 can of cream of mushroom soup. I also added some peas. The cheddar crust is flaky and crisp. My family ate the entire pie. I split the veggies and chicken in half to feed 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jannette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This recipe is okay, but when I put this much time into a meal I want it to be much more remarkable. As written, this recipe is very bland, even after I added poultry seasoning to the sauce. Will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Five stars for the crust! Used it for my French Canadian Tourtiere and it complimented it nicely. I will do the Chicken Pot Pie recipe some day, but had to say thank you for the crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States