Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is a great recipe! My son raved about it and has been requesting it since I made it last week for the first time. I used leftover roasted chicken that I flavored with garlic, onion, celery etc. and I also used the broth from that chicken. The gravy for the pie was delicious and just the right thickness. No gooey canned soup that tastes processed. I cooked the veggies and potatoes in the broth for a bit to soften them. Only one thing I will mention regarding the crust, after about 4 TBS of water, just add one at a time. You will need more or less depending on the humidity in the air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Brenner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I boiled chicken in broth until no longer pink, then added potatoes and carrots. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
not bad but the recipe didnt specify cooking the potatoes and carrots... maybe im just an idiot but ive never made a homemade pot pie before and now i know how to do it right! cook the veggies well first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Drouillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was amazing! My husband who does not like chicken pot pie and tried to talk me out of making it, had 3 helpings. Because other users mentioned it made a lot of filling, I used my deep dish pie pan and it worked great. Also I cooked my pototoes and carrots with the onion in a little bit of safflower oil at the mention from several users that the potatoes weren't quite done. This is a wonderful recipe that my entire family enjoyed and will be made many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cortez, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Excellent! My kids dislike chicken pot pies, but gave the recipe to my daughter in Alaska, and they loved it! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was excellent! I know how frustrating it is for people to tweak recipes and then rate them, but I did make a few "enhancements" because of what I had on hand...I had sweet potatoes instead of white, and in place of mushrooms I tossed in broccoli, right before adding everything to the pie crust. I also added some chopped garlic, sage and thyme to the sauce. I may add some frozen peas next time. This did make a lot of filling -- I used about half to fill the crust and froze the rest for another chilly night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
A favorite of mine! I use my own pie crust recipe. Definitely boil the cubed potatoes for a few minutes to soften, so they're done when the rest of the pie is. I sometimes substitute peas for the celery. Overall a fantastic recipe. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jakethebug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Crust was great! Overall a very good recipe. I feel I need to point out that anytime a roux is involved it's full thickening potential is not realized until you have let it boil for a few minutes. I allowed mine to boil while I simmered a half cup of heavy cream. I added the cream to the soup. I let this simmer a few minutes more, until it coated the back of my wooden spoon. I think the cream did wonders for the pot pie. I felt I was back in my Grandmother's Southern kitchen! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Silverhill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I use this recipie but I but ready made crust. mmm mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This is by far the best recipe I have tried so far on this site. Absolutely delicious, authentic, comforting, homemade goodness! I used puff pastry instead of making the crust but other than that, changed nothing. Try this, you won't be disappointed! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GardenGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States