Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
It was good. I think I cut it too early, it was pretty runny. Added a bit of thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was the best pot pie I've ever had. My family ate every last bite! So delish and pretty easy to make, even the crust! Although I had to leave my dough out for about 20-30 minutes for it to get soft enough for me to roll out. That's the only snag I hit. This recipe is definitely going into my rotation. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SukeyNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Tried this recipe for dinner last night! My boyfriend loved it! No more frozen Marie Callender's Chicken Pot Pies for us! After reading a few reviews I threw the bottom crust in the oven while it was preheating then brushed it with egg whites. I left out the celery because I don't care for celery much. I cheated and used a bag of mixed frozen veggies (green peas, carrots, & green beans). I read a few reviews and cubed the chicken and threw it in the chicken broth to cook for 10 min. After that I added the bag of frozen veggies, thinly sliced mushrooms, and potatoes for 5-7 min. Then I followed the recipe for the butter, salt, pepper, onion, and flour. I poured the chicken broth in the butter mixture after and whisked it and then dumped everything in. Poured the filling into the bottom crust and covered it with the top crust and also put egg whites on that. The rest I followed the recipe to cook and let it cool for 10 min. It was awesome! Definitely something to try making when the weather gets colder. I also cheated and used the Pillsbury Pie Crust haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Edie Babe
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Super easy and fast especially if you use canned veggies which I did for the diced potatoes and carrots. I did sautée fresh mushrooms and onion though and threw in some frozen peas just to use them up. I fully cheated and also used a frozen ready made pie crust because I was in a hurry. Turned out great although I'll spice it up more next time and maybe add some herbs. The boys, who are all about simple food, loved it as is but for me it was a little too simple flavor wise. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edie Babe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This was delicious! I did precook the veggies some before combining, as another suggested. I also chopped them pretty fine, which also helped. This is worth the effort !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trilliank
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I used frozen peas and carrots and leftover rotissary chicken. I uped the crust by half (3 cups flour) I didnt measure the carrots and peas. I found individual pot pie tins and it made 5 full pot pies. They turned out perfect after 35 min of cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Delicious comfort food. Sauteed the mushrooms, celery, diced potatoes and onions. Added these and a small package of mixed frozen veg to the chicken gravy. Only change I made was to add poultry seasoning, and sage to the filling and rosemary to the pastry. Will definitely make this again. Lots of filling for two 9 inch pies. Just double the pie crust recipe. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sacto ThreeSixty
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I had taken home all the veggie trays leftover from a work luncheon. I hate to see it go to waste so I made chicken pot pie. I've posted the pics from beginning to end. This was very satisfying. I didn't use lard though, instead using coconut butter since it will endure the high heat that lard does. Either one is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
My husband loves this recipe. I do use a deep dish pie pan. I sauté the onions, carrots and celery. Makes them much more tasty. Microwave the cut potatoes a few minutes. You can add a little of your left over veggies, corn, peas, geese beans but about half a cup is enough. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by patty5826
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Great recipe .. I added more veggies & used can biscuits but overall... Yummy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States