Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Edie Babe
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Super easy and fast especially if you use canned veggies which I did for the diced potatoes and carrots. I did sautée fresh mushrooms and onion though and threw in some frozen peas just to use them up. I fully cheated and also used a frozen ready made pie crust because I was in a hurry. Turned out great although I'll spice it up more next time and maybe add some herbs. The boys, who are all about simple food, loved it as is but for me it was a little too simple flavor wise. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edie Babe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This was delicious! I did precook the veggies some before combining, as another suggested. I also chopped them pretty fine, which also helped. This is worth the effort !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trilliank
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I used frozen peas and carrots and leftover rotissary chicken. I uped the crust by half (3 cups flour) I didnt measure the carrots and peas. I found individual pot pie tins and it made 5 full pot pies. They turned out perfect after 35 min of cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Delicious comfort food. Sauteed the mushrooms, celery, diced potatoes and onions. Added these and a small package of mixed frozen veg to the chicken gravy. Only change I made was to add poultry seasoning, and sage to the filling and rosemary to the pastry. Will definitely make this again. Lots of filling for two 9 inch pies. Just double the pie crust recipe. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sacto ThreeSixty
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I had taken home all the veggie trays leftover from a work luncheon. I hate to see it go to waste so I made chicken pot pie. I've posted the pics from beginning to end. This was very satisfying. I didn't use lard though, instead using coconut butter since it will endure the high heat that lard does. Either one is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
My husband loves this recipe. I do use a deep dish pie pan. I sauté the onions, carrots and celery. Makes them much more tasty. Microwave the cut potatoes a few minutes. You can add a little of your left over veggies, corn, peas, geese beans but about half a cup is enough. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by patty5826
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Great recipe .. I added more veggies & used can biscuits but overall... Yummy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
My husband and I loved this recipe. I didn't have fresh carrots so, I used the carrots from a bag of Stir Fry veggies, also added the broccoli from the bag. I used a can of mushroom pieces, I had on hand. The potatoes I used were 4 small New Potatoes that I par boiled to make it easier to peel. Once all the veggies were chopped, I added them to the sautéed Onions and flour and let them cook until tender. I didn't add any salt because I used chicken broth I had made before, from my freezer. Instead of a pie pan, I decided to use individual aluminum 2 cup size "baked bean" pans. This recipe filled four. The pie crust was the best I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This was delicious! I did cheat and bought a crust, but followed the rest of the recipe. IMPORTANT: COOK THE POTATOES FIRST! Maybe boil them for a while. I didn't...since the recipe didn't specify, I thought that maybe they would just cook up while baking. They didn't...they were raw, and we had to pick them out. We also used frozen carrots/peas/corn for the veggies...and they came out just fine. The gravy was soooo simple to make, and was so delicious! I will definitely make this again...and I will cook the poataoes first when I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This was delicious! I haven't eaten pot pies since I was a kid (shy away from high calories). However, my husband raved about this recipe and it reminded me of my youth. I did add more flour to thicken up the "gravy", but I had no problem filling a deep 9" pie. I also added extra onion and some garlic salt while sautéing the veggies first. I agree that the veggies needed to be cooked before assembling the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Nielssen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States