Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was amazing! My husband who does not like chicken pot pie and tried to talk me out of making it, had 3 helpings. Because other users mentioned it made a lot of filling, I used my deep dish pie pan and it worked great. Also I cooked my pototoes and carrots with the onion in a little bit of safflower oil at the mention from several users that the potatoes weren't quite done. This is a wonderful recipe that my entire family enjoyed and will be made many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cortez, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Excellent! My kids dislike chicken pot pies, but gave the recipe to my daughter in Alaska, and they loved it! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was excellent! I know how frustrating it is for people to tweak recipes and then rate them, but I did make a few "enhancements" because of what I had on hand...I had sweet potatoes instead of white, and in place of mushrooms I tossed in broccoli, right before adding everything to the pie crust. I also added some chopped garlic, sage and thyme to the sauce. I may add some frozen peas next time. This did make a lot of filling -- I used about half to fill the crust and froze the rest for another chilly night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
A favorite of mine! I use my own pie crust recipe. Definitely boil the cubed potatoes for a few minutes to soften, so they're done when the rest of the pie is. I sometimes substitute peas for the celery. Overall a fantastic recipe. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jakethebug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Crust was great! Overall a very good recipe. I feel I need to point out that anytime a roux is involved it's full thickening potential is not realized until you have let it boil for a few minutes. I allowed mine to boil while I simmered a half cup of heavy cream. I added the cream to the soup. I let this simmer a few minutes more, until it coated the back of my wooden spoon. I think the cream did wonders for the pot pie. I felt I was back in my Grandmother's Southern kitchen! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Silverhill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I use this recipie but I but ready made crust. mmm mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This is by far the best recipe I have tried so far on this site. Absolutely delicious, authentic, comforting, homemade goodness! I used puff pastry instead of making the crust but other than that, changed nothing. Try this, you won't be disappointed! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GardenGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Loved the crust! Great chicken pot pie and will be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeahDerks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
LOVE this recipe!! My kids think it's great so it's definately a keeper. It really does make enough for almost three pies though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna Mccoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I made this to a t the first time how can you rate a recipe if you change it.2cnd time i did not have a 9inch pie plate so i used an 9x9inch pan added some oregano and some peas and threw in some cheddar cheese I had leftover about half a cup. this is wayyyyyyyy to much filling for one pie as others have said so make two pie crusts.My roommate tried this for the first time and said hes never moving out.Hes not used to homemade cooking so ive done spoiled him.A definate try if this is your first time.Alot of work but if followed will come out good.and the crust is the key make sure to use lard makes it so flaky and easy to work with.I use the pie crust recipe anytime i need one for a fruit pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vickie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States