Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Delicious comfort food. Sauteed the mushrooms, celery, diced potatoes and onions. Added these and a small package of mixed frozen veg to the chicken gravy. Only change I made was to add poultry seasoning, and sage to the filling and rosemary to the pastry. Will definitely make this again. Lots of filling for two 9 inch pies. Just double the pie crust recipe. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sacto ThreeSixty
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I had taken home all the veggie trays leftover from a work luncheon. I hate to see it go to waste so I made chicken pot pie. I've posted the pics from beginning to end. This was very satisfying. I didn't use lard though, instead using coconut butter since it will endure the high heat that lard does. Either one is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
My husband loves this recipe. I do use a deep dish pie pan. I sauté the onions, carrots and celery. Makes them much more tasty. Microwave the cut potatoes a few minutes. You can add a little of your left over veggies, corn, peas, geese beans but about half a cup is enough. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by patty5826
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Great recipe .. I added more veggies & used can biscuits but overall... Yummy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
My husband and I loved this recipe. I didn't have fresh carrots so, I used the carrots from a bag of Stir Fry veggies, also added the broccoli from the bag. I used a can of mushroom pieces, I had on hand. The potatoes I used were 4 small New Potatoes that I par boiled to make it easier to peel. Once all the veggies were chopped, I added them to the sautéed Onions and flour and let them cook until tender. I didn't add any salt because I used chicken broth I had made before, from my freezer. Instead of a pie pan, I decided to use individual aluminum 2 cup size "baked bean" pans. This recipe filled four. The pie crust was the best I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This was delicious! I did cheat and bought a crust, but followed the rest of the recipe. IMPORTANT: COOK THE POTATOES FIRST! Maybe boil them for a while. I didn't...since the recipe didn't specify, I thought that maybe they would just cook up while baking. They didn't...they were raw, and we had to pick them out. We also used frozen carrots/peas/corn for the veggies...and they came out just fine. The gravy was soooo simple to make, and was so delicious! I will definitely make this again...and I will cook the poataoes first when I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This was delicious! I haven't eaten pot pies since I was a kid (shy away from high calories). However, my husband raved about this recipe and it reminded me of my youth. I did add more flour to thicken up the "gravy", but I had no problem filling a deep 9" pie. I also added extra onion and some garlic salt while sautéing the veggies first. I agree that the veggies needed to be cooked before assembling the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
the family loved this. I substituted broccoli and peas from my garden for the mushrooms and cooked the vegetables for a bit in the sauce. They were perfectly cooked al dente when the pie was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I just made this today and had to return to write a review. This is by far the best I have ever made. I think the only thing I might do is add a few more tbsp of flour, as I like my filling very thick. Otherwise it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Vernace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States