Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Wonderful as written, but have made it without mushrooms and with boughten crust and still rocks! My son-in-law does not like chicken pot pie but loves this recipe! Freezes well, with or without crust. Often just use a top crust. Still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Isaac Hamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I had been craving pot pie for ages and this was great. I followed others' recommendations and made two pies, and I had enough filling and dough left (after trimming the two 9 inch pies) to make four little cupcake pan pies. I didn't put potatoes in and just added a little more carrot and celery. If I had to make it again I would double the salt and pepper and maybe bake it a little longer since the veggies (despite being finely diced) were still rather crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
My family loves this recipe,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Guy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Writing this for my fellow newish cookers. I've never made any kind of pie or pie crust. This was very very simple with the instructions given. I used butter instead of lard because I didn't know where to get it from and also boiled all vegetables in the filling for about 5 minutes and they were all tender. Added a little garlic and Tony's for my personal taste otherwise did everuthing as written. I made my crusts and cut all vegetables that morning so this only took about 15 minutes to get ready at dinner. Perfect golden crust! My baby and toddler ate it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
It was good. I think I cut it too early, it was pretty runny. Added a bit of thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was the best pot pie I've ever had. My family ate every last bite! So delish and pretty easy to make, even the crust! Although I had to leave my dough out for about 20-30 minutes for it to get soft enough for me to roll out. That's the only snag I hit. This recipe is definitely going into my rotation. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SukeyNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Tried this recipe for dinner last night! My boyfriend loved it! No more frozen Marie Callender's Chicken Pot Pies for us! After reading a few reviews I threw the bottom crust in the oven while it was preheating then brushed it with egg whites. I left out the celery because I don't care for celery much. I cheated and used a bag of mixed frozen veggies (green peas, carrots, & green beans). I read a few reviews and cubed the chicken and threw it in the chicken broth to cook for 10 min. After that I added the bag of frozen veggies, thinly sliced mushrooms, and potatoes for 5-7 min. Then I followed the recipe for the butter, salt, pepper, onion, and flour. I poured the chicken broth in the butter mixture after and whisked it and then dumped everything in. Poured the filling into the bottom crust and covered it with the top crust and also put egg whites on that. The rest I followed the recipe to cook and let it cool for 10 min. It was awesome! Definitely something to try making when the weather gets colder. I also cheated and used the Pillsbury Pie Crust haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Edie Babe
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Super easy and fast especially if you use canned veggies which I did for the diced potatoes and carrots. I did sautée fresh mushrooms and onion though and threw in some frozen peas just to use them up. I fully cheated and also used a frozen ready made pie crust because I was in a hurry. Turned out great although I'll spice it up more next time and maybe add some herbs. The boys, who are all about simple food, loved it as is but for me it was a little too simple flavor wise. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edie Babe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States