Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Delicious comfort food. Sauteed the mushrooms, celery, diced potatoes and onions. Added these and a small package of mixed frozen veg to the chicken gravy. Only change I made was to add poultry seasoning, and sage to the filling and rosemary to the pastry. Will definitely make this again. Lots of filling for two 9 inch pies. Just double the pie crust recipe. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sacto ThreeSixty
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I had taken home all the veggie trays leftover from a work luncheon. I hate to see it go to waste so I made chicken pot pie. I've posted the pics from beginning to end. This was very satisfying. I didn't use lard though, instead using coconut butter since it will endure the high heat that lard does. Either one is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
My husband loves this recipe. I do use a deep dish pie pan. I sauté the onions, carrots and celery. Makes them much more tasty. Microwave the cut potatoes a few minutes. You can add a little of your left over veggies, corn, peas, geese beans but about half a cup is enough. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by patty5826
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Great recipe .. I added more veggies & used can biscuits but overall... Yummy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
My husband and I loved this recipe. I didn't have fresh carrots so, I used the carrots from a bag of Stir Fry veggies, also added the broccoli from the bag. I used a can of mushroom pieces, I had on hand. The potatoes I used were 4 small New Potatoes that I par boiled to make it easier to peel. Once all the veggies were chopped, I added them to the sautéed Onions and flour and let them cook until tender. I didn't add any salt because I used chicken broth I had made before, from my freezer. Instead of a pie pan, I decided to use individual aluminum 2 cup size "baked bean" pans. This recipe filled four. The pie crust was the best I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This was delicious! I did cheat and bought a crust, but followed the rest of the recipe. IMPORTANT: COOK THE POTATOES FIRST! Maybe boil them for a while. I didn't...since the recipe didn't specify, I thought that maybe they would just cook up while baking. They didn't...they were raw, and we had to pick them out. We also used frozen carrots/peas/corn for the veggies...and they came out just fine. The gravy was soooo simple to make, and was so delicious! I will definitely make this again...and I will cook the poataoes first when I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This was delicious! I haven't eaten pot pies since I was a kid (shy away from high calories). However, my husband raved about this recipe and it reminded me of my youth. I did add more flour to thicken up the "gravy", but I had no problem filling a deep 9" pie. I also added extra onion and some garlic salt while sautéing the veggies first. I agree that the veggies needed to be cooked before assembling the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
the family loved this. I substituted broccoli and peas from my garden for the mushrooms and cooked the vegetables for a bit in the sauce. They were perfectly cooked al dente when the pie was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I just made this today and had to return to write a review. This is by far the best I have ever made. I think the only thing I might do is add a few more tbsp of flour, as I like my filling very thick. Otherwise it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Vernace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States