Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This is delicious! I made it last night and it turned out great; not a crumb left over! I did read the reviews ahead of time and knew to cook the potatoes a bit before adding them. I also added a bag of frozen peas and carrots and skipped the mushrooms. The other reviewers are correct that it makes WAY too much filling for the crust recipe provided, especially if you add extra vegetables. Do yourself a favor and double the dough so you can make two of these yummy pies! In preparation for a birthday party where I'm serving my son's favorite meals as appetizers, I actually made miniature pies in my muffin pans and ended up with six pies. They baked perfectly in the time and temperature for the regular pies and turned out great as cute little individual pies that popped right out onto the platter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
Oh, MAN! Goooooood stuff! I steamed the carrots and celery first, boiled the potatoes in the broth and then used it for the sauce so it was even thicker and I added some frozen peas and brushed the inside of the bottom crust and the outside of the top crust with beaten egg white to make sure they didn't get soggy. This recipe is going on an index card and into my box, which is high praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Truely fantastic recipe! I agree that the filling is enough for almost two pies, so cut back on the broth and flour. I used the called for amounts of veggies, but added an extra cup of chicken and some peas and broccoli. Here's what i did to solve the crunchy veggy problem: i boilied the raw chicken tenderlions in the chicken broth for about 10 min, then added the potatoes and carrots and cooked for another 5-7 min until they softened a bit. then i took the chicken out of the broth and used a large straining spoon to get the potatoes and carrots out, and poured the broth into the butter mixture and followed the recipe from there, adding 1/2 cup of whole milk at the end. And to solve the soggy bottom crust problem, i found the PERFECT cure! I used Pilsbury crust and put it in the oven while preheating. About 3 min after it had heated to 400, i took it crust out of the oven and let it cool for just a few minutes. Then i brushed egg whites on it (and on the top crust). Not at all soggy on the bottom - PERFECT!! The only other modification i would make to the recipe is to use one potato to cut back on the filling. Or, perhaps it's possible to freeze/refridgerate the leftover filling to use later with some buttermilk biscuits?? yummy! Ps - although i have once added a teeny bit of rosemary, i don't recommend it. cooking the chicken in the broth and adding the whole milk added that slight extra bit of flavor that i will now never try to change! Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Very good pot pie. My family loves it. I did use a Pillsbury crust to cut down on time. I also boiled the carrots, celery and potatoes in the broth for about 7 minutes. I was concerned that they wouldn't be cooked enough if I didn't boil them first. Also, I make a double batch each time so I can freeze the pot pie filling for another day. I just thaw it and put it in a crust and bake. This recipe is definitely a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montclair, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I followed this to a "T". cut potatoes into 1/4" - 3/8" cubes. They definitely were not done. I recommend par-boiling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Gerrells

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
My husband and I loved this recipe. The 2nd time I made it I tried to skip making the crust and used a ready made pie crust. It wasn't nearly as good as this pie crust. Also I sauteed all the vegetables before adding them to the flour mixture so they weren't as crunchy in the final product. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Wow!! This pot pie is AWESOME!! So easy and delicious! I used a premade crust, added a little extra onion and used 3 cups water plus 3 chicken boullion cubes in place of the broth, but the flavor was still supurb! I didn't have a pie tin, so I used a deep square baking dish and make mine "deep dish" style, which works pretty well and keeps the crust from overriding the flavor of the filling. My guests, husband, and children all wolf this down -- its perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I thougt it was very good. I did cook the potatoes and carrots before I baked the pie. I just added them into the chicken broth and let them cook just until them started to soften. I left out the mushrooms because no one in my family likes them that good and I didn't have and celery but I think it still turned out very good. I did add some spices to the broth for flavor. I will use this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I rolled Rosemary into the pie crust and I added 1/3 cup of sour cream and splash of milk into mix before putting in crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Blakely

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Climax, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This was very good, very easy for me to make. Alas, I didn't read the reviews before tackling it, and my potatoes were hard. u.u; Next time, I'll boil them. I also had to add a bit of corn starch to thicken the sauce, but it was very delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States