Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is a great recipe! My son raved about it and has been requesting it since I made it last week for the first time. I used leftover roasted chicken that I flavored with garlic, onion, celery etc. and I also used the broth from that chicken. The gravy for the pie was delicious and just the right thickness. No gooey canned soup that tastes processed. I cooked the veggies and potatoes in the broth for a bit to soften them. Only one thing I will mention regarding the crust, after about 4 TBS of water, just add one at a time. You will need more or less depending on the humidity in the air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Brenner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I boiled chicken in broth until no longer pink, then added potatoes and carrots. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
not bad but the recipe didnt specify cooking the potatoes and carrots... maybe im just an idiot but ive never made a homemade pot pie before and now i know how to do it right! cook the veggies well first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was amazing! My husband who does not like chicken pot pie and tried to talk me out of making it, had 3 helpings. Because other users mentioned it made a lot of filling, I used my deep dish pie pan and it worked great. Also I cooked my pototoes and carrots with the onion in a little bit of safflower oil at the mention from several users that the potatoes weren't quite done. This is a wonderful recipe that my entire family enjoyed and will be made many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cortez, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Excellent! My kids dislike chicken pot pies, but gave the recipe to my daughter in Alaska, and they loved it! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was excellent! I know how frustrating it is for people to tweak recipes and then rate them, but I did make a few "enhancements" because of what I had on hand...I had sweet potatoes instead of white, and in place of mushrooms I tossed in broccoli, right before adding everything to the pie crust. I also added some chopped garlic, sage and thyme to the sauce. I may add some frozen peas next time. This did make a lot of filling -- I used about half to fill the crust and froze the rest for another chilly night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
A favorite of mine! I use my own pie crust recipe. Definitely boil the cubed potatoes for a few minutes to soften, so they're done when the rest of the pie is. I sometimes substitute peas for the celery. Overall a fantastic recipe. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jakethebug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Crust was great! Overall a very good recipe. I feel I need to point out that anytime a roux is involved it's full thickening potential is not realized until you have let it boil for a few minutes. I allowed mine to boil while I simmered a half cup of heavy cream. I added the cream to the soup. I let this simmer a few minutes more, until it coated the back of my wooden spoon. I think the cream did wonders for the pot pie. I felt I was back in my Grandmother's Southern kitchen! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Silverhill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I use this recipie but I but ready made crust. mmm mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This is by far the best recipe I have tried so far on this site. Absolutely delicious, authentic, comforting, homemade goodness! I used puff pastry instead of making the crust but other than that, changed nothing. Try this, you won't be disappointed! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GardenGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States