Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I used a pre-made crust so I can't say anything about the crust recipe here but the filling recipe is very good. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
first time making this... was sooooooo good! used premade pie crust - will make my own next time just to compare if it makes a difference with the outcome. it was still good as pillsbury makes a great pie crust! left out mushrooms (for my son) but he may lose that battle next time it would have added a great flavor. the sauce is so good. we barely have any left over! I used a small casserole oval shape dish and used up all the filling. I could see where you would be able to make two pies out of this if you used pie pans. To sum it up 5 big stars, will make again and again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
One of the best I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
this is SO good! I was so happy that I was able to make a dairy-free chicken pot pie! I substituted the butter for olive oil, and it turned out great. I also sauted the potato cubes in olive oil until they were almost soft, and they were crispy and brown on the outside. It's worth the extra effort, in my opinion! I left out the mushrooms (yuck) and also added garlic. I took other reviewers advice and put the filling into 2 pies... which I regretted. they were too skimpy, and I don't think it's way too much filling for 1 pie, like others said. Maybe that's personal preference, or maybe I used smaller potatoes, carrots, etc? don't know... but either way.. it's SO good and doesn't turn out runny or soggy. mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was the best Pot Pie i've ever had! I used Pillsbury Pie Crust and put egg whites on both the top and bottom and followed the directions of another reviewer and added 1/2 C milk to the broth. Cant wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I liked this recipe because of it's simplicity, but spiced it up a bit with fresh rosemary and a little lemon juice and grated provalone to the sauce. Also I added some garlic and yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
The best pot-pie ever! My family was so disappointed when I didn't make another one the next day! Followed directions to a T, no changes needed. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Love this chicken pot pie! Having said that, I have learned to parboil my celery, carrots and potatoes. No matter how small you chop them, they are still crunchy if you don't. Also, I usually use a store bought crust, just don't have the time/desire to make my own most of the time. Finally, to cut down a bit on fat, I will just use a top crust sometimes too. Just made one with some leftover turkey I had frozen and it was DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is a great recipe! My son raved about it and has been requesting it since I made it last week for the first time. I used leftover roasted chicken that I flavored with garlic, onion, celery etc. and I also used the broth from that chicken. The gravy for the pie was delicious and just the right thickness. No gooey canned soup that tastes processed. I cooked the veggies and potatoes in the broth for a bit to soften them. Only one thing I will mention regarding the crust, after about 4 TBS of water, just add one at a time. You will need more or less depending on the humidity in the air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Brenner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I boiled chicken in broth until no longer pink, then added potatoes and carrots. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States