Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This recipe is great! My first time making pot pie and it came out AWESOME! I personally love the crust for every bite, so i used a six pack of mini pie tins instead of making one large one. By doing this, I used all of my filling and did not have any left over like most of the reviews stated. I also doubled my pie crust ingredients, which i had enough left over for two more small pies. My chicken i cut into cubes and seasoned with garlic salt, basil & pepper and sauteed in butter in a frying pan. I also boiled my potatoes just enough so they were easy to cut into. Making the filling for the pie I followed directions but i let my carrots and celery cook for about 5 minutes before adding my chicken, just to avoid the chance of them to still be a little crunchy when i put them to bake. I added the potatoes last for about 3minutes just so they did not get soggy. I also added about 1-2 tsp of cornstarch- i like my filing a little thicker than what it was from the directions. I also used egg whites to glaze the top of each pie which made them a beautiful color on top. Cooking time was accurate about 30min, & I let them cool about 5-10. This is a perfect recipe for made-from-scratch chicken pot pie. I will definitely make this again in the future and have already bragged to my family members on how beautiful and delicious it tasted! Newly Wed Wives this is PERFECT to show off for your Husband. Nothing says I love you more than hard work in the kitchen ;) making food from scratch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krme2053

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This recipe is a delicious dish to serve as comfort food. It is going in my favorite recipes. I made it for my family last night. I read the other reviews and precooked the vegetables as suggested. I also added peas and omitted the mushrooms. Instead of making one large pie, I used Rachel Ray's individual ceramic baking pans. The filling and crust was enough to fill and top six bakers. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is amazing...I used a Betty Crocker pie crust boxed mix...This worked well...It is important to cook the vegetables before placing in pie shell...I cooked them in the chicken broth. These were the only changes I made...We really loved this. Flavor is wonderful and contains much less sodium than pot pies available in the store. Note...I have made a couple of times since writing the above review...I made the crust according to the directions with this recipe and it turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This recipe, with a few minor changes I made (listed in my profile), got rave reviews from my super-picky family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This one is a keeper- a classic pot pie taste. The crust recipe is delish. Double the crust, because there will be just enough filling for two pies. I added peas instead of mushrooms and boiled raw, cubed chicken breasts with the veggies (minus the peas) for about 15-20 mins like in Chicken Pot Pie IX. Then used the liquid for the broth, and didn't even need any bouillon to boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I used premade crust but pot pie still turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
What a great way to use leftovers. Simple, quick and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Very good, as others have said there is too much filling. I was really surprised how flavorfull it was. I used Flaky Food Processor Pie Crust recipe, as a short cut, which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder Creek, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
YUM... I love that this recipe didn't use any "cream of soups"... I did purchase the pie crust because I stink at rolling out pie dough! For the chicken I boiled 4 thighs along with celery, carrot, onion, bay leaf, garlic, salt & pepper to make my own stock. I strained it and used the cooked carrots; added "cooked" green beans and potatoes... Super de duper! :) Message to self: 1/2 the roux ingredients, add potatoes and filling to roux, keep on low heat, add 1 tsp. rubbed sage, 1/4 tsp. thyme then add enough broth until desired thickness. Freeze remaining stock when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Loved it! Added Calle de Pollo (loose chicken bouillon) to the pastry. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States