Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
fantastic! my picky eater 15 year old even went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
The Very Best Ever. I also used the Buttermilk pie crust recipe and the crust is to die for. I wouldnt change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debora C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
AMAZING! I used refer pie crusts, but otherwise, I followed the recipe for the filling/sauce. I also used a bag of frozen veggies to cut time. My picky girls cleaned their bowls, veggies and all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I did not follow this recipe to a T, with the veggies. Instead I added peas, carrots, and green beans. I did however, make the crust as stated in the recipe, it was perfect. But, I felt that it did need more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I just made this for supper tonight. It was delicious. My first try at chicken pot pie I might add. I omitted the mushrooms as I did not have any cheated by using the store bought Pillsbury refrigerated pie crusts instead of making my own. I used a 9-inch pie plate and ended up with enough left over filling for a second pie. Looks like we will be having it again tomorrow night. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
For beginners/first time makers like me: If you have no store-bought chicken broth on hand; since the instructions call for draining off the boiled broth, I just reserved all of that until I saw how much I needed to make the filling thick enough (which would be at least the 1 and 3/4 cup chicken broth called for). To start, I just covered the chicken completely with water, sprinkled in a couple Tbsp of rotisserie chicken seasoning I had on hand. then reserved that liquid, after boiling. This may be what the instructions intend in the first place, but since it doesn't say what to do with the broth drained off the chicken, that's what I used. The only veggies I had were one can each of corn and green beans. So that they wouldn't be cooked down to mush, I waited to add them in after the chicken got boiled. Carrots would have given this more color. You could use a can of Veg-All, which contains a colorful variety, but there's something about it that looks too store-bought to me, even when it tastes fine. So I try to avoid that. I used pre-made, refrigerated pie crusts and that worked well. I probably put more slits in the crust than necessary, but I've seen too many boil out of the crust. I think this would be nice with some water chestnuts added in, if you don't have celery. I only had 1/4 c onions; to give it the amt of onion taste intended, I could have added a little onion powder I THINK. Do pre-bake the bottom crust so that this won't turn out too mushy. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meleah
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Great recipe! I've made it a few times and it's been a hit each time! I am, however, guilty of making changes. I use refrigerated pie crust (I find it tastes just fine and such a time saver!). I saute the onion with the mushrooms, I add a few cloves of garlic and a sprinkle of dried thyme. After the chicken broth/flour/butter come to a boil I add a 1/2 cup of heavy cream (at room temp), makes it extra creamy and rich! I also par boil the potatoes and carrots and add frozen peas. When I am short on time I buy a roasted chicken from the grocery store and shred the meat to use in the pie, the chicken is so flavorful and juicy! I make individual servings and only put crust over the tops b/c my dishes are a bit shallow and a double crust would be to much for me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This recipe is great! My first time making pot pie and it came out AWESOME! I personally love the crust for every bite, so i used a six pack of mini pie tins instead of making one large one. By doing this, I used all of my filling and did not have any left over like most of the reviews stated. I also doubled my pie crust ingredients, which i had enough left over for two more small pies. My chicken i cut into cubes and seasoned with garlic salt, basil & pepper and sauteed in butter in a frying pan. I also boiled my potatoes just enough so they were easy to cut into. Making the filling for the pie I followed directions but i let my carrots and celery cook for about 5 minutes before adding my chicken, just to avoid the chance of them to still be a little crunchy when i put them to bake. I added the potatoes last for about 3minutes just so they did not get soggy. I also added about 1-2 tsp of cornstarch- i like my filing a little thicker than what it was from the directions. I also used egg whites to glaze the top of each pie which made them a beautiful color on top. Cooking time was accurate about 30min, & I let them cool about 5-10. This is a perfect recipe for made-from-scratch chicken pot pie. I will definitely make this again in the future and have already bragged to my family members on how beautiful and delicious it tasted! Newly Wed Wives this is PERFECT to show off for your Husband. Nothing says I love you more than hard work in the kitchen ;) making food from scratch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krme2053

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This recipe is a delicious dish to serve as comfort food. It is going in my favorite recipes. I made it for my family last night. I read the other reviews and precooked the vegetables as suggested. I also added peas and omitted the mushrooms. Instead of making one large pie, I used Rachel Ray's individual ceramic baking pans. The filling and crust was enough to fill and top six bakers. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is amazing...I used a Betty Crocker pie crust boxed mix...This worked well...It is important to cook the vegetables before placing in pie shell...I cooked them in the chicken broth. These were the only changes I made...We really loved this. Flavor is wonderful and contains much less sodium than pot pies available in the store. Note...I have made a couple of times since writing the above review...I made the crust according to the directions with this recipe and it turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States