Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I liked this recipe. I wondered if I got my sauce thick enough but I did find I had more filling than could fit in my pan. I think it would be fun to get small dishes for individual pies. A little more work but preferable to having the pie run out. I used butter in my crust since I did not have lard on hand and it worked it out just fine, should have pre baked the crust and did the egg wash thing. Omitted the mushrooms since they are not my favorite but it was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This is amazing and really quite easy. I use a 9x9 square glass baking dish and everything fits perfectly. I used one chicken bouillon cube in 3c of water, brought that to a boil and then added my diced veggies and cooked them for 7 min as others suggested. I also used non-hydrogenated shortening instead of lard and the crust came out just fine. With regard to thickening the sauce, melt the butter until it's bubbling and then stir in the flour mixture. It'll thicken up FAST. Stir in the broth somewhat gradually and then remove from heat when it's as thick as you like. This is really a treat. Hubby loved it too. I will definitely be making it often and will likely experiment with doubling it and trying a 9x13... Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
fantastic! my picky eater 15 year old even went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
The Very Best Ever. I also used the Buttermilk pie crust recipe and the crust is to die for. I wouldnt change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debora C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
AMAZING! I used refer pie crusts, but otherwise, I followed the recipe for the filling/sauce. I also used a bag of frozen veggies to cut time. My picky girls cleaned their bowls, veggies and all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I did not follow this recipe to a T, with the veggies. Instead I added peas, carrots, and green beans. I did however, make the crust as stated in the recipe, it was perfect. But, I felt that it did need more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I just made this for supper tonight. It was delicious. My first try at chicken pot pie I might add. I omitted the mushrooms as I did not have any cheated by using the store bought Pillsbury refrigerated pie crusts instead of making my own. I used a 9-inch pie plate and ended up with enough left over filling for a second pie. Looks like we will be having it again tomorrow night. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
For beginners/first time makers like me: If you have no store-bought chicken broth on hand; since the instructions call for draining off the boiled broth, I just reserved all of that until I saw how much I needed to make the filling thick enough (which would be at least the 1 and 3/4 cup chicken broth called for). To start, I just covered the chicken completely with water, sprinkled in a couple Tbsp of rotisserie chicken seasoning I had on hand. then reserved that liquid, after boiling. This may be what the instructions intend in the first place, but since it doesn't say what to do with the broth drained off the chicken, that's what I used. The only veggies I had were one can each of corn and green beans. So that they wouldn't be cooked down to mush, I waited to add them in after the chicken got boiled. Carrots would have given this more color. You could use a can of Veg-All, which contains a colorful variety, but there's something about it that looks too store-bought to me, even when it tastes fine. So I try to avoid that. I used pre-made, refrigerated pie crusts and that worked well. I probably put more slits in the crust than necessary, but I've seen too many boil out of the crust. I think this would be nice with some water chestnuts added in, if you don't have celery. I only had 1/4 c onions; to give it the amt of onion taste intended, I could have added a little onion powder I THINK. Do pre-bake the bottom crust so that this won't turn out too mushy. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meleah
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Great recipe! I've made it a few times and it's been a hit each time! I am, however, guilty of making changes. I use refrigerated pie crust (I find it tastes just fine and such a time saver!). I saute the onion with the mushrooms, I add a few cloves of garlic and a sprinkle of dried thyme. After the chicken broth/flour/butter come to a boil I add a 1/2 cup of heavy cream (at room temp), makes it extra creamy and rich! I also par boil the potatoes and carrots and add frozen peas. When I am short on time I buy a roasted chicken from the grocery store and shred the meat to use in the pie, the chicken is so flavorful and juicy! I make individual servings and only put crust over the tops b/c my dishes are a bit shallow and a double crust would be to much for me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This recipe is great! My first time making pot pie and it came out AWESOME! I personally love the crust for every bite, so i used a six pack of mini pie tins instead of making one large one. By doing this, I used all of my filling and did not have any left over like most of the reviews stated. I also doubled my pie crust ingredients, which i had enough left over for two more small pies. My chicken i cut into cubes and seasoned with garlic salt, basil & pepper and sauteed in butter in a frying pan. I also boiled my potatoes just enough so they were easy to cut into. Making the filling for the pie I followed directions but i let my carrots and celery cook for about 5 minutes before adding my chicken, just to avoid the chance of them to still be a little crunchy when i put them to bake. I added the potatoes last for about 3minutes just so they did not get soggy. I also added about 1-2 tsp of cornstarch- i like my filing a little thicker than what it was from the directions. I also used egg whites to glaze the top of each pie which made them a beautiful color on top. Cooking time was accurate about 30min, & I let them cool about 5-10. This is a perfect recipe for made-from-scratch chicken pot pie. I will definitely make this again in the future and have already bragged to my family members on how beautiful and delicious it tasted! Newly Wed Wives this is PERFECT to show off for your Husband. Nothing says I love you more than hard work in the kitchen ;) making food from scratch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krme2053

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States