Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Yummy. I substituted 1 cup frozen peas at the end of the mixture instead of potatoe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Great starter recipe. I have made it to the T and to my own tastes, extra veggies and garlic. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I really wish I had read the reviews. Yep, the potatoes were not done. But my kids did not complain. Next time,I will parboil the potatoes. If I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This is absolutely delicious!! And easy to boot! I did make a few changes to the recipe - replaced the mushrooms and celery for peas and carrots which I cooked slightly before adding. I also par-boiled the potatos in the chicken broth as mentioned in previous reviews. I also cooked the bottom crust for about 3; then after cooling for a few topped it with an egg white wash to keep it from getting soggy. The results were amazing!! This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
My review is only for the filling- I lack the "knack" for a decent home made crust, so I use the roll out premade kind! This is the BEST filling I've found! Like others have said, precook your potatoes! I made this again tonight, but didn't have celery or carrots. 6 oz frozen mixed veggies worked GREAT! Love this! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
So tasty but the potatoes didn't cook. Must boil first. I used shredded carrots so didn't need to boil them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Followed the recipe - used premade pie crust. Usually just throw in whatever veggies I have on hand. I microwave the potatoes first and then cut them to put in (just to save a pan). I make it with leftover chicken so I can skip that cooking step too. I add everything to the gravy and pour it in together. It is a lot of filling but fine for my deep dish pie pan. Everyone in my family loves it which is a tall order!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I liked this recipe. I wondered if I got my sauce thick enough but I did find I had more filling than could fit in my pan. I think it would be fun to get small dishes for individual pies. A little more work but preferable to having the pie run out. I used butter in my crust since I did not have lard on hand and it worked it out just fine, should have pre baked the crust and did the egg wash thing. Omitted the mushrooms since they are not my favorite but it was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This is amazing and really quite easy. I use a 9x9 square glass baking dish and everything fits perfectly. I used one chicken bouillon cube in 3c of water, brought that to a boil and then added my diced veggies and cooked them for 7 min as others suggested. I also used non-hydrogenated shortening instead of lard and the crust came out just fine. With regard to thickening the sauce, melt the butter until it's bubbling and then stir in the flour mixture. It'll thicken up FAST. Stir in the broth somewhat gradually and then remove from heat when it's as thick as you like. This is really a treat. Hubby loved it too. I will definitely be making it often and will likely experiment with doubling it and trying a 9x13... Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States