Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I didn't use the "guts" of this recipe, just the recipe for the crust. I followed it exactly & it turned out horrible. I've made my own pie crusts before & they've turned out fine. Not sure what happened but it was ok rolling it out but when I tried transfering it it just crumbled everywhere. UGH!!! Tell me what I did wrong!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Very good recipe. I used the Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust and doubled the amount of the roux b/c I like my pot pies to be very creamy. It fit perfectly in a 9 1/2 " glass pie plate. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I simply love recipes that are made from scratch. There is nothing more rewarding than knowing every single ingredient that went into your dish. I had left over chicken from the night before and was looking for a use for it. I followed the recipe with the exception of the addition of some thyme, sage, and rosemary. Just tasting the roux, I knew this was going to be a tasty dish. I cubed the potatoes and used the mandoline on a fine slice for the carrots, sauteed them with the herbs and added to the roux along with the chicken. I didn't have any problems with the potatoes being uncooked nor the quantity of pie filling as others had experienced. If you have the time, you should really follow the recipe for the pie crust. It was very light and flaky. A very fine dish. Thank you for this delicious, made from scratch, recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This recipe is easily changed! I used Pillsbury roll out crusts instead of making my own. I added peas instead of mushrooms and used canned potatoes and chicken since I was in a rush. It does make too much for one pie filling. I am going to use less broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I really didn't enjoy this recipe at all. I'm giving 3 stars because my husband and brother thought it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I had to give the recipe 4 stars instead of 5 because of the changes I made. I used refrigerated pie crust instead of scratch & it worked great. I used frozen veggie mix along with frozen O'Brien potatoes & it was so easy this way. I pre-cooked several chicken breasts & cut up in chunks to add to the other ingredients. Everybody loved this recipe & said it was much, much better than the frozen things you get in the store. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISH441

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Made this tonight... this was easy. made the dough this morning and put in fridge. Used some of the 1/2 C butter to saute celery and onion. Added remaining butter and melted. Followed the recipe from there. Did use broccoli and carrots (did steam before adding to mixture in pie), and leftover corn. Mixed them in. MISTAKE: added a bit of milk and will not do that next time. Otherwise, this was very good... family loved it, will make again. tasted just like our local bakery's frozen pot pie but better because I made it! Next time I will add some cheddar cheese before putting on the top layer of dough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c4christ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I made this last night, but did use premade pie crusts. It was delicious and my uncle was over for lunch today and said it was awesome! Thanks for this recipe - it was quite easy to make. I did use chicken breasts, fresh, cut them up and then added as instructed. I perhaps used too much chicken broth as I wasn't sure what the consistency should have been so when we cut into it, a lot spilled out, but it was so tasty and good, I am not complaining. I did however, precook my potatoes and carrots, highly recommend this as even with the precooking, the potatoes were still a bit firm at the end. No biggie though. Fantastic recipe - highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Every one loved it!! My husband said he was the envy of everyone at lunch with his left overs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I gave it 4 only because I had trouble getting my kids to like it. My husband and I greatly enjoyed it though... I had to make some changes based on our dietary needs, so I used a gluten free crust, and corn starch to thicken instead of flour. But it worked pretty well, and cnverted to a gluten free recipe without too much trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eshalon47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States