Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Delicious and easy to make. We added veggies from the garden and made sure that the carrots and potatoes were soft before adding them in. We also added seasonings from the garden to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovingmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Good but we thought it was a little bland as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
One of the best meals I've ever had. Wonderful comfort food. The only reason I gave it a 4 not a 5 was that I wish I would have listened to the reviews and pre-cooked the potatoes a little. I baked my pie for about 10 extra minutes as it didn't look done, and the potatoes and carrots were a little crunchy still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I used Pillsbury Pie crusts to save on time. I boiled cubed boneless chicken breasts in 4 cups of chicken broth for 10 minutes. Added cubed potatoes for 5 minutes to parboil. I also added garlic to the onion, butter and flour mixture. Added peas, corn and fresh green beans at the end before baking. Also added 1/2 C. milk, and a few teaspoons of corn starch because I used extra chicken broth. Also added a little bit of sage, thyme and parsley. I made one big pie. Brushed egg whites on bottom/top crusts to prevent sogging. Then made mini pies with the rest of the filling in muffin tins. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
My family loves chicken pot pie and I have tried many recipes ... but I have to admit this one comes the closest to perfection for us. I've made this with different veggies and it's always a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Elhart Legere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
one word...FANTASTIC! This was exactly the comfort Pot Pie recipe I was looking for. Thank you sooo much for sharing! The crust was great! A dough trick I just learned is to cut the lard and flour together with a wisk. What a time saver. Also, work the dough as minimal as possible! The only change I made to this recipe was...I didn't add potato because I had a turkey dinner the night before and had other left overs to add in. So instead of potato, I used the corn on the cob kernels and cut up green beans. The rest of the recipe I followed exactly and was not dissapointed. As per other reviews, this amount can easily be used for two pies...so double up on the dough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I didn't use the "guts" of this recipe, just the recipe for the crust. I followed it exactly & it turned out horrible. I've made my own pie crusts before & they've turned out fine. Not sure what happened but it was ok rolling it out but when I tried transfering it it just crumbled everywhere. UGH!!! Tell me what I did wrong!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Very good recipe. I used the Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust and doubled the amount of the roux b/c I like my pot pies to be very creamy. It fit perfectly in a 9 1/2 " glass pie plate. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I simply love recipes that are made from scratch. There is nothing more rewarding than knowing every single ingredient that went into your dish. I had left over chicken from the night before and was looking for a use for it. I followed the recipe with the exception of the addition of some thyme, sage, and rosemary. Just tasting the roux, I knew this was going to be a tasty dish. I cubed the potatoes and used the mandoline on a fine slice for the carrots, sauteed them with the herbs and added to the roux along with the chicken. I didn't have any problems with the potatoes being uncooked nor the quantity of pie filling as others had experienced. If you have the time, you should really follow the recipe for the pie crust. It was very light and flaky. A very fine dish. Thank you for this delicious, made from scratch, recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This recipe is easily changed! I used Pillsbury roll out crusts instead of making my own. I added peas instead of mushrooms and used canned potatoes and chicken since I was in a rush. It does make too much for one pie filling. I am going to use less broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States