Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Desert Moon
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I have made pot pie with biscuit mix topping for many years but this was very first attempt to make one from scratch. From the pie crust to the flavor of the gravy inside and to the fresh potatoes and carrots, this was by far the best pot pie I have had in ages. I am not a huge celery lover so I omitted the celery and added some peas. Result was still outstanding!! Thank you so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Moon

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Nellie
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I've made this multiple times since finding this recipe. My family has loved it every time. The recipe is great as is, but tonight I added about a teaspoon of Chef Paul Prudhomme's Poultry Magic and that really enhanced the flavor. Because this recipe makes a too much filling for a 9" pie pan, I pour it into a greased 9x13 and then roll the entire amount of dough into a rectangle for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was sooo good! A slam dunk all the way around. I used a store bought pie crust as I cant make one to save my life, and it made a huge deep dish pie with filling left over. Next time I will make 2 smaller pies. Also threw in a handful of frozen peas. Perfect! Hubby requested that I make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I loved this. I never thought it would be so easy to get that comfort food feeling!! MMMM!! I pre-sauteed the veggies......did not use mushrooms. I boiled the chicken to almost done....I pre-baked the crust for about 6 minutes, as with another review, I brushed on some egg whites, and I did the top of the crust too! I loved this pot pie, I was weary at first, the filling did not smell as tasty as it REALLY was when it was all complete and baked in the pie! TRY THIS! It is delisious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very good! My whole family loved this one!! I will definetly make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Moorcroft, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
So Yummy! I used a store bought crust that needed to be used up. I added a lot more onion and more carrots. I also added a bag of frozen mixed veggies. Way too much for 1 pie, will make 2 next time. This recipie is going in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was my first homemade pot pie with homemade crust and It was so good! The husband loved it, the kids didnt like it that much (but they dont like anything I swear!). I also precooked the veggies like other reviews and added some extra seasoning like onion powder, garlic, and greek seasoning. I had to bake it for 15 extra mins cause i made 2 batches of crust and made the 1st pie crust a little to thick. But it was sooo good! Way better than store bought and wasnt hard to make at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LooHunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was excellent! I'm not a pro in the kitchen, so I used Pilsbury refrigerated pie crusts and I used a 12oz bag of mirepoix (2:1:1 of onions, celery, and carrots - available at Krogers) and only 1 and 1/2 russet potatoes. Made enough filling for two pies definitely! Followed the modification of boiling the chicken (3 breasts) in chicken broth for 10 minutes, adding the mirepoix and boiled for 5-7 minutes longer, then removing the chicken and straining the broth to get the onions, celery and carrots out. Additionally, allowed the pie crust the bake as the oven preheated, then brushed on egg whites and no soggy crust. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is a really good recipe. My preference (for the potatoes, celery, carrots, onions, and mushrooms) is to saute' them together in olive oil, then sprinkle the flour over the vegetables, slightly browning/cooking the flour and then whisk in the liquid to make the sauce. I also added ground bay leaf (Penzey's) to the seasonings. To cook the chicken, I use boneless, skinless, organic fed chicken, drizzled with olive oil, sprinkle with salt, and cook in a 350 degree oven until done. After the chicken is cooled, shred the chicken in medium size pieces with two forks. The flavor of the chicken is exquisite and no square chunks. When putting the pie together, I never use a bottom crust. Put the vegetables/sauce mixture in greased pan/Pyrex, add frozen green peas and chicken, top with crust...making a design or slits in crust to let steam escape. Bake the left over pie crust as crackers and serve with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
There must have been a step left out of this recipe. The carrots and potatoes should have been pre-cooked, because when I pulled this pie out of the oven (after having it in there for 10 extra minutes) the potatoes and carrots were still completely raw. I was SOOO disappointed because other than that, it was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States